Many thanks for your quick reply - Can I block this IP so that it does not generate alerts. It's causing a lot of log traffic please?
Main Topics
Browse All TopicsHi,
Please can someone comment on the following log entries on my router I am getting several errors a day.
Is my External IP being attacked or is this normal please?
If this is a threat, then how can I stop this please?
Not sure what IP 98.124.95.94 is.
Many thanks
Peter
This Question has been solved and asker verified All Experts Exchange premium technology solutions are available to subscription members.
Experts Exchange has been collecting answers to technology questions since 1996…3 million and counting! If you have a question, chances are we already have your answer.
If you can't find the exact answer you're looking for, ask our exclusive community of 50,000 experts. You’ll get a personalized answer from a trusted professional.
Thousands of free tech tips, tricks, how-to’s and tutorials are available in our peer reviewed articles section. See for yourself how smart our experts are, no login required.
Access the answers to your technology questions today.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Members of the expert community talk about why the experience at Experts Exchange is different than what you will find anywhere else.

Try it out and discover for yourself.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Join the community of experts here and help other tech pros by answering question in your area of expertise. You can earn FREE access to all Experts Exchange's premium features and resources.
I've not used that particular device but after a quick scan of it's manual (ftp://ftp.dlink.co.uk/dkt
Business Accounts
Answer for Membership
by: OrbsolPosted on 2009-10-30 at 07:08:48ID: 25703068
Basically your router is being scanned to see if port 445 is open. I wouldn't worry as the router is blocking the attempt. It happens all too frequently and isn't really anything to be concerned about. As port 445 is used by many virii I would say it is an infected machine that is trying to spread itself. The IP address is owned by Home Telephone Company, Inc and so it is probably just a run of the mill user.