[x]
Posted via EE Mobile

Search, ask, and monitor your questions on the go with EE Mobile. Visit Experts Exchange from your mobile device and never be out of touch again.

Question
[x]
Attachment Details
[x]
The Solution Rating System

With so many solutions, how can you tell which solutions are most likely to help you and which ones are not? To provide you with a tool to use, we rate our solutions based on various elements that most accurately determine if a solution is a quality solution. To explain what factors affect the solution rating, here are the elements we take into consideration when formulating our solution rating.

  • The Grade of the Solution
  • The Zone Rank of the Expert Providing the Solution
  • The Number of Author and Expert Comments
  • The Number of Experts Contributing
  • The Feedback of the Community

Your Input Matters
Because of the way the system is set up, the most important variable in this equation is you. As a member of Experts Exchange, you are able to cast your vote on the quality of the solutions in regard to how complete, accurate, helpful and easy to understand each solution is. When you provide your feedback, each rating is adjusted accordingly. So, if you see a solution that has a poor rating that you think is a good solution, let us know by rating it. As you do, the rating will be adjusted and will become more accurate for other members of our site.

If you have any suggestions that you would like to make for our rating system, please ask a question in the Suggestions Zone of Community Support.

Thank you!

6.4

Why is email from my domain getting rejected because of RBL policy even after I have removed the domain from all Realtime Blackhole Lists?

Asked by fnillc in Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP)

Tags: Microsoft, Exchange Server, 2003

I'm the admin for two domains, I'll call them myoffice.com and thecustomer.com (for security reasons). myoffice.com is running Exchange Server 2007, and thecustomer.com is running Exchange Server 2003 w/SP2.

A few weeks ago we had a computer on our myoffice.com domain with a mass mailer virus. We were added to a few RBLs because of that computer sending out spam. I removed the domain from all of the lists that same day (but possibly not before sending email to thecustomer.com while still on the RBLs).

Now whenever I send email to thecustomer.com (and this has been happening for a couple weeks, ever since we got on the RBL's), the following shows up in their SMTP Server log:

2008-09-18 17:06:39 [WAN-IP-ADDR-CHANGED] mail1.myoffice.com SMTPSVC1 TFHEXCH 172.16.1.30 0 EHLO - +mail1.myoffice.com 250 0 317 31 0 SMTP - - - -
2008-09-18 17:06:39 WAN-IP-ADDR-CHANGED mail1.myoffice.com SMTPSVC1 TFHEXCH 172.16.1.30 0 MAIL - +FROM:<me@myoffice.com> 550 0 42 48 0 SMTP - - - -
2008-09-18 17:06:39 WAN-IP-ADDR-CHANGED mail1.myoffice.com SMTPSVC1 TFHEXCH 172.16.1.30 0 QUIT - mail1.myoffice.com 240 46 42 48 0 SMTP - - - -

I looked up the error code "550 0 42 48 0 SMTP" and it looks like thecustomer.com's  rejecting the email due to some policy. When I try to telnet to their mail server from my office and do MAIL FROM:me@myoffice.com I get:

550 Message rejected because of RBL policy

They can receive email from any other domain just fine. And we can send email from myoffice.com to other domains just fine as well, without getting blocked/rejected.

I rechecked our IP address using several RBL lookup tools today and every single one shows us on 0 RBL's.... nothing blacklisted at all. So I'm guessing that thecustomer.com's server cached the RBL entry and is not re-looking it up again.

Their mail security software is Ninja Mail Security for Exchange, version 2.1.4235, by Sunbelt Software. It does antispam and antivirus. But I can't see any settings for RBL checking. And I've whitelisted the email addresses that we're sending from, but that still doesn't work. So I'm not sure if it's Ninja Mail Security that is blocking the emails. This page seems to suggest the poster is having the same problem with Ninja, but I don't see where they are configuring RBL checks: http://www.petri.co.il/forums/archive/index.php/t-20511.html

Does Exchange Server 2003 (like IMF) do RBL lookups?  Also they have a Watchguard Firebox firewall, but I also don't think that this does RBL lookups... but I'm not sure. It doesn't do antispam or email filtering on port 25, so I wouldn't think it would do RBL lookups.

Any advice?? Any idea where the RBL listing is cached on their end? (if that's the case). I'm stumped on this one.
[+][-]09/18/08 12:27 PM, ID: 22514415Accepted Solution

View this solution now by starting your 30-day free trial. Setting up your free trial is quick, easy, and secure. We will return you to this solution, unlocked, when you're done.

About this solution

Zone: Simple Mail Transfer Protocol (SMTP)
Tags: Microsoft, Exchange Server, 2003
Sign Up Now!
Solution Provided By: fnillc
Participating Experts: 0
Solution Grade: A
 
[+][-]09/18/08 12:54 PM, ID: 22514707Author Comment

Often, when Experts are collaborating with members who have asked questions, they will request additional information about the problem. Askers respond with an author comment like this one.

Start your 30-day free trial to view this Author Comment or ask the Experts your question.

 
 
Loading Advertisement...
20091111-EE-VQP-89 / EE_QW_2_20070628