Earthlink is blocking email from our Exchange Server 2007 server.
Here is the error message (note: our mail server's hostname has been changed to mail1.OURDOMAIN.com... also email addresses and IP addresses have been changed for anonymity):
--------------------------
----------
----------
----------
----------
----------
----
Delivery has failed to these recipients or distribution lists:
EMAILADDRESS@teleport.com
An error occurred while trying to deliver this message to the recipient's e-mail address. Microsoft Exchange will not try to redeliver this message for you. Please try resending this message, or provide the following diagnostic text to your system administrator.
The following organization rejected your message: mx-roseate.atl.sa.earthlin
k.net.
_____
Sent by Microsoft Exchange Server 2007
Diagnostic information for administrators:
Generating server: mail1.OURDOMAIN.com
EMAILADDRESS@teleport.com
mx-roseate.atl.sa.earthlin
k.net #550 550 Dynamic/zombied/spam IPs blocked. Write blockedbyearthlink@abuse.e
arthlink.n
et ##
Original message headers:
Received: from mail1.OURDOMAIN.com ([192.168.0.10]) by
mail1.OURDOMAIN.com ([192.168.0.10]) with mapi; Thu, 25 Jun 2009
09:19:15 -0700
From: SENDER NAME <SENDER@OURDOMAIN.com>
To: "EMAILADDRESS@teleport.com
" <EMAILADDRESS@teleport.com
>
Date: Thu, 25 Jun 2009 09:19:10 -0700
Subject: RE: fishing
Thread-Topic: fishing
Thread-Index: Acnt3KiGJvmFZF7TQDiyRJoeS2
nliQH0nwJA
Message-ID: <764F9610B35A6043ADED48C17
0EE5D9C6CC
8421C4C@ma
il1.OURDOM
AIN.com>
References: <12124477.1245086018497.Ja
vaMail.roo
t@elwamui-
darkeyed.a
tl.sa.eart
hlink.net>
In-Reply-To: <12124477.1245086018497.Ja
vaMail.roo
t@elwamui-
darkeyed.a
tl.sa.eart
hlink.net>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-US
X-MS-Has-Attach:
X-MS-TNEF-Correlator:
x-ninja-pim: Scanned by Ninja
x-ninja-attachmentfilterin
g: (no action)
acceptlanguage: en-US
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding:
quoted-printable
MIME-Version: 1.0
--------------------------
----------
----------
----------
----------
----------
----
I've checked multiple RBL lookup tools and our server / IP address is not listed on any blacklist:
-
http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx-
http://www.dnswatch.info/dns/rbl-lookupHere's the SMTP diagnostics test from MXToolbox.com:
RESULT: mail1.OURDOMAIN.com
Banner: 220 mail1.OURDOMAIN.com Microsoft ESMTP MAIL Service ready at Thu, 25 Jun 2009 10:43:35 -0700
Connect Time: 0 seconds - Good
Transaction Time: 5.344 seconds - Warning
Relay Check: OK - This server is not an open relay.
Rev DNS Check: OK - 173.50.xxx.xxx resolves to mail1.OURDOMAIN.com
GeoCode Info: Geocoding server is unavailable
Session Transcript:
HELO please-read-policy.mxtoolb
ox.com
250 mail1.OURDOMAIN.com Hello [64.20.xxx.xxx [78 ms]
MAIL FROM: <test@mxtoolbox.com>
250 2.1.0 Sender [94 ms]
RCPT TO: <test@mxtoolbox.com>
550 5.7.1 Unable to rel [5078 ms]
QUIT
221 2.0.0 Service closing transmission chann [94 ms]
6/25/2009 12:43:33 PM Central Standard Time
--------------------------
----------
----------
----------
----------
---
So that rules out the possibility of it being an open relay issue.
And I am 100% sure that our IP address is static. It's Verizon FiOS business-class ISP service with a block of 5 static IP addresses. The thing that bothers me is this line:
Received: from mail1.OURDOMAIN.com ([192.168.0.10]) by...
Why does Earthlink's server think that the IP address of our mail server is 192.168.0.10? That is one of our mail server's private IP addresses on our LAN... but shouldn't this be showing up as our public IP address instead?
Here are the headers of an email I sent from my USER@OURDOMAIN.com email address to a different POP email address I use:
--------------------------
----------
----------
----------
----------
----
Return-path: <USER@OURDOMAIN.com>
Envelope-to: tony@otheremailaddress.com
Delivery-date: Thu, 25 Jun 2009 10:51:15 -0700
Received: from mail1.OURDOMAIN.com ([173.50.xxx.xxx])
by hoori.lunarmania.com with esmtps (TLSv1:RC4-MD5:128)
(Exim 4.69)
(envelope-from <USER@OURDOMAIN.com>)
id 1MJt6M-0002lh-Mi
for tony@otheremailaddress.com
; Thu, 25 Jun 2009 10:51:15 -0700
Received: from mail1.OURDOMAIN.com ([192.168.0.10]) by
mail1.OURDOMAIN.com ([192.168.0.10]) with mapi; Thu, 25 Jun 2009
10:51:06 -0700
Content-Type: multipart/mixed;
boundary="_000_764F9610B35
A6043ADED4
8C170EE5D9
C6CC8421C6
4mail1ourd
omain_"
From: Tony Johnson <USER@OURDOMAIN.com>
To: 'Tony Johnson' <tony@otheremailaddress.co
m>
Date: Thu, 25 Jun 2009 10:51:06 -0700
Subject: Test email
Thread-Topic: Test email
Thread-Index: Acn1vYOXPPXz2WlJQy2eQ+TXxg
Kzaw==
Message-ID: <764F9610B35A6043ADED48C17
0EE5D9C6CC
8421C64@ma
il1.OURDOM
AIN.com>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-US
X-MS-Has-Attach:
X-MS-TNEF-Correlator: <764F9610B35A6043ADED48C17
0EE5D9C6CC
8421C64@ma
il1.OURDOM
AIN.com>
x-ninja-pim: Scanned by Ninja
x-ninja-attachmentfilterin
g: (no action)
acceptlanguage: en-US
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Spam-Status: No, score=0.0
X-Spam-Score: 0
X-Spam-Bar: /
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-EsetId: 4772A0254B892831163E
--------------------------
----------
----------
----------
----------
-------
It's using the same private 192.168.0.10 IP address. Is this correct behavior/functionality or should Exchange Server be sending its public/static IP address instead?
Any help would be greatly appreciated! We aren't experiencing troubles emailing any other organizations/domains (that we know of).