this came back as an error for just one address of a multi contact communication send out. The error message said that the address name.secondname@domain.com
Main Topics
Browse All TopicsJust received message back from bounce and it states that a completely valid account on our domain can not be delivered mail. Message reads:
5.1.2 - Bad destination host 'DNS Hard Error looking up....
This Question has been solved and asker verified All Experts Exchange premium technology solutions are available to subscription members.
Experts Exchange has been collecting answers to technology questions since 1996…3 million and counting! If you have a question, chances are we already have your answer.
If you can't find the exact answer you're looking for, ask our exclusive community of 50,000 experts. You’ll get a personalized answer from a trusted professional.
Thousands of free tech tips, tricks, how-to’s and tutorials are available in our peer reviewed articles section. See for yourself how smart our experts are, no login required.
Access the answers to your technology questions today.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Members of the expert community talk about why the experience at Experts Exchange is different than what you will find anywhere else.

Try it out and discover for yourself.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Join the community of experts here and help other tech pros by answering question in your area of expertise. You can earn FREE access to all Experts Exchange's premium features and resources.
this came back as an error for just one address of a multi contact communication send out. The error message said that the address name.secondname@domain.com
These forced accepts are sure annoying.
I came here hoping to find further information but this question may not even have been resolved. This is a misleading "Accepted Solution". Seriously, isn't it better to simply delete the question or ask the rest of the community for their opinion?
Anyhow, if anyone reads this, this error may also occur when your ISP has flagged your account as a sender of SPAM. This error occurs when sending out emails with a large number of recipients.
I'm still trying to determine whether or not this is the case with one of my clients.
Thanks for your comment - I read all the comments that are added or posted to questions that I have either worked on myself or have been involved with in my 'Official' hat on.
In this particular case, no, it was not erroneous back in 2007. the dns reports available from DNSSTUFF were likely the most efficient, most informative source of information and places to look for your DNS issues on the planet. As they were free they were used a great deal and identified almost any error you could think of AND gave great guidance on resolutions of such errors.
I believe they are still available but these days it is a chargeable service and so i do not - personally - use it anymore and so do not know the form of those services.
Keith
Hi Keith, I was speaking more in general terms about forced accepts and in particular cases where the answer may not be correct or complete. There are better (or worse) examples on EE than this one.
My earlier comment was solely based upon what my client told me. Apparently their ISP support representative said this.
Anyhow, I finally received an email with the error message. It took me a few seconds to see that my client made the mistake. The error message stated, <'suffix@domain'>. It seems clear to me that the email address incorrectly included ' in it. That's ' ' ' ' ' ' ' ' ' <-- symbol is either quotes or apostrophes.
lol - OK, no problem.
To be frank, that is a plus and a minus of the site. On one hand (no conceit intended) you can get old hands who have done nothing but this job (in IT for 30+ years) like myself and many others and you also have the new, young and still disgustingly enthusiastic 'tryer'. They learn though by keeping on the forums and provide better responses - and learn more - as they go. Not often, but once or twice, I have still learnt the odd new-trick that I wasn't aware of.
Anyway, hopefully we will see you again here in the future - if you need help that is....
Keith
ISA MVP
Business Accounts
Answer for Membership
by: mdcseaPosted on 2007-11-26 at 11:06:53ID: 20352129
This is a pretty straightforward error indicating that there was an MX lookup error. What is the rest of the error message (include the specific domain, not a placeholder)? Have you checked the DNS for your domain to make sure all is well? Do a DNSreport here: http://www.dnsstuff.com/ What are you using for a spam filter? Some spam relay services can cause this issue.