Was the email a part of distribution list? I had problems with sending emails to hotmail accounts if the email is sent to more than 10 users...
Do you have a SPF DNS Record?
http://www.itsyourip.com/d
Main Topics
Browse All TopicsHello all,
As I'm trying to send out email to a hotmail account. I'm getting a NDR from the exchange server. Saying that the email wasn't accepted by the hotmail live system.
I don't know why. But we were able to send to hotmail.com adresses before. And now I'm getting this error.
a SMTP-communication error has acceurd at the adresses mail server. Please contact the system administratorr.
<mail.xxxxx.be #5.5.0 smtp;550 DY-002 Mail rejected by Windows Live Hotmail for policy reasons. The likely cause is a compromised or virus infected server/personal computer. If you are not an email/network admin please contact your E-mail/Internet Service Provider for help. Email/network admins, please visit http://postmaster.live.com
I virus checked the pc with sophos anti virus. (nothing found)
I checked postmaster.live.com. Notthing much I can do because most of the items are for the ISP.
So. I'm asking here. Does anybody know what to do?
Best regards,
Osa2
This Question has been solved and asker verified All Experts Exchange premium technology solutions are available to subscription members.
Experts Exchange has been collecting answers to technology questions since 1996…3 million and counting! If you have a question, chances are we already have your answer.
If you can't find the exact answer you're looking for, ask our exclusive community of 50,000 experts. You’ll get a personalized answer from a trusted professional.
Thousands of free tech tips, tricks, how-to’s and tutorials are available in our peer reviewed articles section. See for yourself how smart our experts are, no login required.
Access the answers to your technology questions today.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Members of the expert community talk about why the experience at Experts Exchange is different than what you will find anywhere else.

Try it out and discover for yourself.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Join the community of experts here and help other tech pros by answering question in your area of expertise. You can earn FREE access to all Experts Exchange's premium features and resources.
Was the email a part of distribution list? I had problems with sending emails to hotmail accounts if the email is sent to more than 10 users...
Do you have a SPF DNS Record?
http://www.itsyourip.com/d
@lecaf. I'm not so found of giving my ip adres. I will check it if you want on blacklist sites or whatever. But I don't see why I should give it. (for more spam preventing)
@rbkumaran
no we also have the problem on sending to only 1 email adress. It started with sending to many hotmail accounts. But even to only 1 adressee we get this error.
I don't thin we have spf DNS recods. Do we need to let them create by the ISP?
Hotmail recommends having an SPF record, though not a must.
go to www.dnsreport.com and query your domain (and not mail test). It wil give you most of the details you need yo know:
SPF, RDNS, RBL, ...
SPF isn't going to help alot here. modell is right that the simplest answer will be to use your ISPs smarthost.
You could also try and fix it. Ensure that you are not on any blacklists, ensure that your domain does not flag ANY errors here -> http://www.dnsreport.com
Usually this fails because you have no reverse DNS, and/or, you have an incorrect SMTP Greeting. DNSReport will flag those, and we can tell you how to fix it.
Kieran
I made contact with the ISP and they told me they cannot make SPF records. It is an issue about PTR records. They changed the PTR and it will work. Alltough It is still not working.
So I contacted them again. To ask for the SPF record. No answer so far.
When I try the dnsreport. The SPF gives an error. And also a A record is giving an error.
The domain in qustion is laika.be. Maybe you all can check what needs to be changed.
Business Accounts
Answer for Membership
by: lecafPosted on 2008-01-02 at 04:39:56ID: 20563934
what's your IP
m a r c