Port 25 open and it still goes to junk.
Main Topics
Browse All TopicsI have a server at a hosted site where I send emails to users who register on our website. Any replies get sent to a different server. This works but any emails that go to hotmail accounts get marked as junk.
Mail gets sent from smtpout.abc.com (IP 1.2.3.4)
I have my PTR set to resolve 1.2.3.4 to smtpout.abc.com
My SPF is set "v=spf1 a mx ip:1.2.3.4 ~all"
My MX is set for mail.xyz.com (IP 5.6.7.8)
I can successfully sent and recive mail for the abc.com domain but Hotmail doesn't like it. I don't think it's an issue that my MX points to a different domian is it? Any ideas?
Here's a copy of the header that hotmail sent to Junk:
X-Message-Delivery: Vj0zLjQuMDt1cz0wO2k9MDtsPT
X-Message-Status: n:0
X-SID-PRA: User <user@abc.com>
X-Message-Info: 6sSXyD95QpU1XtC/Dk9nldzP9b
Received: from smtpout.abc.com ([1.2.3.4]) by bay0-mc12-f17.bay0.hotmail
Fri, 10 Aug 2007 10:48:10 -0700
Received: from 89834-WEB2 ([internal IP]) by smtpout.abc.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.1830);
Fri, 10 Aug 2007 12:48:09 -0500
mime-version: 1.0
from: User <user@abc.com>
to: user@hotmail.com
date: 10 Aug 2007 12:48:09 -0500
subject: This is a real email
content-type: text/html; charset=us-ascii
content-transfer-encoding:
Return-Path: user@abc.com
Message-ID: <89834-WEB21hKDRSIEAO00000
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 10 Aug 2007 17:48:09.0861 (UTC) FILETIME=[9D837350:01C7DB7
<p>Come on now, let me through. This is important.<br />=0D=0A<br=
/>=0D=0A--joe.</p>
This Question has been solved and asker verified All Experts Exchange premium technology solutions are available to subscription members.
Experts Exchange has been collecting answers to technology questions since 1996…3 million and counting! If you have a question, chances are we already have your answer.
If you can't find the exact answer you're looking for, ask our exclusive community of 50,000 experts. You’ll get a personalized answer from a trusted professional.
Thousands of free tech tips, tricks, how-to’s and tutorials are available in our peer reviewed articles section. See for yourself how smart our experts are, no login required.
Access the answers to your technology questions today.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Members of the expert community talk about why the experience at Experts Exchange is different than what you will find anywhere else.

Try it out and discover for yourself.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Join the community of experts here and help other tech pros by answering question in your area of expertise. You can earn FREE access to all Experts Exchange's premium features and resources.
ip:1.2.3.4 is not valid in a spf record. It should be ip4:1.2.3.4
Have you checked the IP address of your sending server is not in any RBL?
You can use the tool at http://www.completewhois.c
Other than that there is little you can do. Hotmail have a propietry spam filter which is pront to false positives from some senders for no aparent reason. Hotmail wont tell you why it is classed as spam.
Business Accounts
Answer for Membership
by: sux2bPosted on 2007-08-10 at 14:28:23ID: 19673769
Wanted to add that smtpout.abc.com does not receive email. (Port 25 is blocked on the firewall.) Going to try allowing incoming mail on smtpout.abc.com and see if that makes a difference.