- For individual users
- Instant access to solutions
- Ask your tech questions
- Start your 30-day Free Trial
Main Topics
Browse All TopicsHello experts
I do know that someone or more than one person is spoofing my email address in spam messages, because I have been receiving return notifications to emails that definitely were not sent by me. I am currently using a plain text POP3 email program (really just Telnet with a GUI) to bypass my mail rules and try to monitor where they are coming from.
The recent issue, however, is not directly related to the above issue. In the past couple of weeks I have received Returned Mail messages like the following one from my own ISP when I emailed my CV to Dell in application for a vacancy.
Note: My ISP Freeserve was bought by and renamed as Wanadoo, and is now merged with Orange, just in case you are puzzled by references to them or their IP Addresses.
>>>
This is the SMTP Server program at host me.freeserve.com.
I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not be be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below. For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>
If you do so, please include this problem report. You can delete your own text from the attached returned message.
The SMTP Server program
<someone@dell.com>: delivery temporarily suspended:
host smtp2.ins.dell.com[143.166
554-ps-smtp2.us.dell.com 554 Connections from this sending hostname
smtp2.wanadoo.co.uk, IP address of: 193.252.22.157 are being rejected due to low SenderBase Reputation score (below -2) or due to bad DNS PTR record for your mail server.
Please check your DNS PTR for 193.252.22.157. Forward and reverse DNS entries must match for 193.252.22.157.
Your SenderBase organization: 1374753. See http://www.senderbase.org/
<<<
The annoying thing is that it took them 4 days to figure out that it couldn't be delivered and send me the notification, by which time the job was gone.
OK, so the IP Address 193.252.22.157 assigned to my ISP's SMTP mail server (through which MY outgoing emails are routed) is blocked by Dell's server because the idiots running Freeserve/Wanadoo from France are apparently failing to intercept spam being sent through their servers.
Here's the lookup for the IP Addresses that are being flagged at http://www.senderbase.org as having a "low reputation":
IP 193.252.22.157
Hostname: smtp2.wanadoo.co.uk
Network Owner: Projet Mail Essentials
Domain: wanadoo.co.uk
CIDR range: 193.252.22.0/24
193.252.22.156
Hostname: smtp3.wanadoo.co.uk
Same as above
Whois query
inetnum: 193.252.22.128 - 193.252.22.159
netname: MAIL-ESSENTIALS-WANADOO-UK
descr: Projet Mail Essentials
country: FR
remarks: for hacking, spamming or security problems send mail to abuse@fsmail.net AND abuse@uk.wanadoo.com
role: Wanadoo UK plc
address: The Malthouse, Chadwick Street, Leeds, LS10 1LJ
phone: 0113 2976543
e-mail: fsd@uk.wanadoo.com
Information related to 193.252.0.0/18AS3215
route: 193.252.0.0/18
descr: France Telecom
Dell's servers aren't the only ones rejecting email from my ISP's smtp mail servers. I have tried to email my father ( One-Tel) for weeks and they keep being rejected by that ISP's spam blocker:
>>>
This is the SMTP Server program at host me.freeserve.com.
I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not be be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below. For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>
If you do so, please include this problem report. You can delete your own text from the attached returned message.
The SMTP Server program
<my_father@onetel.net>: host mx.onetel.net.uk[212.67.12
554 Service unavailable;
Client host [193.252.22.156] blocked using bl.spamcop.net;
Blocked - see http://www.spamcop.net/bl.
<<<
In each Undelivered Mail notification, the "please send mail to <postmaster>" does not have a hyperlink, and there is no direct link that I can find on the Wanadoo/Orange support site that would allow me to email them directly to enquire about the problem. When I phone my ISP's call centre, I am assured that they are doing their best to get their mail servers' IP addresses unblocked, but continual checks like this:
http://www.spamcop.net/bl.
http://www.spamcop.net/w3m
show that the IP Addresses are blacklisted on a continual basis eg:
"If there are no reports of ongoing objectionable email from this system it will be delisted automatically in approximately 22 hours".
The only thing that keeps changing with the status is the number of hours until delisting. It looks like it never will be, in which case any other ISP's mailservers that check the IP Address "reputation" will reject my emails forever.
I am obviously looking to move over to another ISP at the moment (to get a new pop3 email address and a company with better customer service), but I am curious to know from other experts whether this is a widespread and commonly occurring problem at the moment, and not just isolated to my own ISP. Maybe they ARE trying their best to stop spam going through their system, and changing to another ISP would just end up with a similar issue.
Has anyone else recently been experiencing this issue?
This question has been solved and asker verified All Experts Exchange premium technology solutions are available to subscription members.
Experts Exchange has been collecting answers to technology questions since 1996…3 million and counting! If you have a question, chances are we already have your answer.
If you can't find the exact answer you're looking for, ask our exclusive community of 50,000 experts. You’ll get a personalized answer from a trusted professional.
Thousands of free tech tips, tricks, how-to’s and tutorials are available in our peer reviewed articles section. See for yourself how smart our experts are, no login required.
Access the answers to your technology questions today.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Members of the expert community talk about why the experience at Experts Exchange is different than what you will find anywhere else.

Try it out and discover for yourself.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Join the community of experts here and help other tech pros by answering question in your area of expertise. You can earn FREE access to all Experts Exchange's premium features and resources.
Business Accounts
Answer for Membership