Advertisement

11.22.2006 at 12:06PM PST, ID: 22069967
[x]
Attachment Details

Interpreting (spam) headers

Asked by tfewster in Outlook Groupware Software

Tags: spam, headers

I'm getting a lot a spam recently, to the point where I've set up my email client (MS Out-of-luck 2002) to bin anything not from a named contact. Tho' I still have to check the trash bin in case any job agencies email me :-(     Anyway, I'm trying to work out what this spam email header is telling me about the sender:

Return-Path: <deborahsevalho@brookshoughton.com>
X-Original-To: ME@dsl.pipex.com
X-Envelope-To: ME@dsl.pipex.com
Delivered-To: ME@dsl.pipex.com
Received: from national.systems.pipex.net (national.systems.pipex.net [62.241.163.9])
      by addams.systems.pipex.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 6233CE0000D3;
      Mon, 20 Nov 2006 01:56:11 +0000 (GMT)
Received: from 201-67-10-227.bsace704.dsl.brasiltelecom.net.br (unknown [201.67.10.227])
      by national.systems.pipex.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 93316E0000C8;
      Mon, 20 Nov 2006 01:56:10 +0000 (GMT)
Received: from 216.82.249.179 (HELO cluster6.us.messagelabs.com)
     by dsl.pipex.com with esmtp (*3P2I+(* -)-0)
     id *<WN7I-5/+:/>-06
     for NOT.ME@dsl.pipex.com; Mon, 20 Nov 2006 02:02:40 +0180
From: "Lucas Simons" <deborahsevalho@brookshoughton.com>
To: <NOT.ME@dsl.pipex.com>
Subject: it me Lucas
Date: Mon, 20 Nov 2006 02:02:40 +0180
Message-ID: <01c70c47$f5769870$6c822ecf@deborahsevalho>
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
      charset="us-ascii"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 3 (Normal)
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Office Outlook, Build 11.0.6353
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2900.2670
Thread-Index: Aca6QGVBAB/,J4(H4F(+59@*U9?3,R==


My main question here is why I ("ME@dsl.pipex.com") received this mail when it appears to have been sent to someone else ("NOT.ME" in the "for" field);  I suspected my ISP was redirecting misaddressed emails, but they tell me it's because the spammer is using BCC to hide the list of recipients.  Is my ISP correct?

Furthermore, is there any reliable info in the header, or can it all be forged? So is there any point in me complaining to brasiltelecom ? Or brookshoughton? (If the domain isn't faked, I'm guessing it's part of a botnet or open relay).

Extra points for other valuable insightsStart Free Trial
[+][-]11.22.2006 at 02:30PM PST, ID: 17999662

View this solution now by starting your 7-day free trial. Setting up your free trial is quick, easy, and secure. We will return you to this solution, unlocked, when you're done.

 

About this solution

Zone: Outlook Groupware Software
Tags: spam, headers
Sign Up Now!
Solution Provided By: war1
Participating Experts: 1
Solution Grade: A
 
 
[+][-]11.22.2006 at 03:45PM PST, ID: 18000081

Often, when Experts are collaborating with members who have asked questions, they will request additional information about the problem. Askers respond with an author comment like this one.

Start your 7-day free trial to view this Author Comment or ask the Experts your question.

 
[+][-]11.22.2006 at 04:01PM PST, ID: 18000161

At Experts Exchange, members can ask their questions to thousands of technology professionals, also known as Experts. Experts compete and collaborate to answer those questions by leaving comments like this one.

Start your 7-day free trial to view this Expert Comment or ask the Experts your question.

 
[+][-]11.22.2006 at 04:15PM PST, ID: 18000213

Often, when Experts are collaborating with members who have asked questions, they will request additional information about the problem. Askers respond with an author comment like this one.

Start your 7-day free trial to view this Author Comment or ask the Experts your question.

 
 
Loading Advertisement...
20080716-EE-VQP-32