[relay=control.mynet.net. [63.175.195.228], dsn=5.0.0, stat=Service
unavailable]
Assuming you're running linux:
Is "mynet.net" listed in your /etc/mail/local-host-names
Main Topics
Browse All TopicsI have a mailing list at lists.mydomain.com and wanted to subscribe to it with an
email of anything@mydomain.com but the confirmation message didn't reach me. I
checked the log files of lists.mydomain.com server and can see
Jan 1 02:10:20 server sendmail[4248]: k0s41sbbp04546: to=<anything@mydomain.com>
delay=00:00:00, xdelay=00:00:00,mailer=esm
relay=control.mynet.net. [63.175.195.228], dsn=5.0.0, stat=Service
unavailable
where
;; ANSWER SECTION:
mydomain.com. 1165 IN MX 10 control.mynet.net.
I can subscribe using other emails so I guessed the problem is only with emails @mydomain.com and I checked and found that those emails @mydomain.com works. I was confused where the problem lies!
This Question has been solved and asker verified All Experts Exchange premium technology solutions are available to subscription members.
Experts Exchange has been collecting answers to technology questions since 1996…3 million and counting! If you have a question, chances are we already have your answer.
If you can't find the exact answer you're looking for, ask our exclusive community of 50,000 experts. You’ll get a personalized answer from a trusted professional.
Thousands of free tech tips, tricks, how-to’s and tutorials are available in our peer reviewed articles section. See for yourself how smart our experts are, no login required.
Access the answers to your technology questions today.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Members of the expert community talk about why the experience at Experts Exchange is different than what you will find anywhere else.

Try it out and discover for yourself.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Join the community of experts here and help other tech pros by answering question in your area of expertise. You can earn FREE access to all Experts Exchange's premium features and resources.
I contacted the people of control.mynet.net and the problem turned out to be a DNS configuration on their server. They correct it and now everything is ok.
However, anfi note about checking the bounce is very good though I couldn't check after fixing the problem since the mails has gone.
kenfcamp, control.mynet.net is not relaying to me. It's me who is using it as a relay and hence adding it to local-host-names is not correct.
anfi, I want to give you the points because of that piece of info if you showed me how to deal with messages in the bounce report for example, if it says:
MDeferred: 461 Too many unknown users from your host. Possibly an open relay. Address added to blacklist. If you think this is not correct please contact blocked@gawab.biz and don't forget to include your network address
and time of seeing this message (#4.3.1)
Does this mean I have something wrong in my configuration? My site is running a mailing list so it's normal that it sends many messages. I have the ptr set properly. how can I check?
Business Accounts
Answer for Membership
by: anfiPosted on 2006-01-04 at 04:27:10ID: 15607003
1) Could you publish email "bounce" message you have received?
[ It usually contains more hints ]
2) You can send a test message to anything@mydomain.com with SMTP session tracking
As root (sendmail-8.12+) execute:
( echo subject: test; echo ) | sendmail -v -oi anything@mydomain.com