Hi, do you get any version or product information when you do a right click -> properties?
Main Topics
Browse All TopicsWhen I start up Zone Alarm firewall, I receive an alert stating "nsstub is trying to access the internet" - can anyone advise if this is malware or is it part of Vista?
This Question has been solved and asker verified All Experts Exchange premium technology solutions are available to subscription members.
Experts Exchange has been collecting answers to technology questions since 1996…3 million and counting! If you have a question, chances are we already have your answer.
If you can't find the exact answer you're looking for, ask our exclusive community of 50,000 experts. You’ll get a personalized answer from a trusted professional.
Thousands of free tech tips, tricks, how-to’s and tutorials are available in our peer reviewed articles section. See for yourself how smart our experts are, no login required.
Access the answers to your technology questions today.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Members of the expert community talk about why the experience at Experts Exchange is different than what you will find anywhere else.

Try it out and discover for yourself.
30-day free trial. Register in 60 seconds.
Join the community of experts here and help other tech pros by answering question in your area of expertise. You can earn FREE access to all Experts Exchange's premium features and resources.
Thanks to both Noam and Grimkin with suggestions as to the cause of this warning message. It may be malware as suggested by the link to the website which Noam gave. I have tried to search for nsstub.exe but it isn't found - only appears as a warning message in Zone Alarm Not sure how I would identify it's properties without finding the file?
I ran Malwarebytes as suggested and this identified a programme called hijacktaskmanager which it removed. Since I have done this, I have had no further alerts in Zone Alarm for nsstub.exe and also my Task Manager has returned to normal (previously wouldn't come up).
Many thanks for this helpful suggestion
Business Accounts
Answer for Membership
by: Noam_KuilboerPosted on 2009-01-27 at 14:28:18ID: 23481892
Looks like malware: http://www.prevx.com/filen ames/X3033 3085533586 69089-0/ NS STUB2EEXE. html