[x]
Posted via EE Mobile

Search, ask, and monitor your questions on the go with EE Mobile. Visit Experts Exchange from your mobile device and never be out of touch again.

06/18/2009 at 03:43AM PDT, ID: 24501960
[x]
Attachment Details
[x]
The Solution Rating System

With so many solutions, how can you tell which solutions are most likely to help you and which ones are not? To provide you with a tool to use, we rate our solutions based on various elements that most accurately determine if a solution is a quality solution. To explain what factors affect the solution rating, here are the elements we take into consideration when formulating our solution rating.

  • The Grade of the Solution
  • The Zone Rank of the Expert Providing the Solution
  • The Number of Author and Expert Comments
  • The Number of Experts Contributing
  • The Feedback of the Community

Your Input Matters
Because of the way the system is set up, the most important variable in this equation is you. As a member of Experts Exchange, you are able to cast your vote on the quality of the solutions in regard to how complete, accurate, helpful and easy to understand each solution is. When you provide your feedback, each rating is adjusted accordingly. So, if you see a solution that has a poor rating that you think is a good solution, let us know by rating it. As you do, the rating will be adjusted and will become more accurate for other members of our site.

If you have any suggestions that you would like to make for our rating system, please ask a question in the Suggestions Zone of Community Support.

Thank you!

8.6

Opinions sought - Company product site with accidentally revealed code

Asked by BillDL in Web Authoring

Tags: HTML

Hello Experts

I have just been exploring the "Belcat" website checking out musical instrument related products and was on the verge of contacting them about some specs of a particular product when I discovered some code that seems to have been accidentally revealed and makes me highly suspicious.

http://belcat.com --> directs to http://belcat.com/2005/main.html (turn volume down, flash intro).

Click "Product" link and then "Amplifier" links.

It opens on Page [1].  Click on the link for [4] below the two rows of image links to bypass the normal pages.
Observe the unfinished item at the right of the bottom row of images with the white "All Wha...".
Click on it and notice that it opens a page displaying the HTML code that we obviously are not supposed to be seeing.

http://belcat.com/bbs/view.php?id=belcatproduct2&page=4&sn1=&divpage=1&sn=off&ss=on&sc=on&select_arrange=headnum&desc=asc&no=77

Note the "bbs" in the URL.

The content clearly includes Google Groups links to "Buy Cialis/Viagra/Tramadol, etc Online", bust strangely below the code there is what would seem to be two links to go to the Previous amplifier model number "FX2030D" and to the Next model "FX2020D".  The links are functional, so it's like this revealing partial code from a web page has been accidentally crammed in and visibly indexed by a link.

Go back now to the page linked to as [4] and then click the link to load page [5].

http://belcat.com/bbs/zboard.php?id=belcatproduct2&page=5&select_arrange=headnum&desc=asc&category=&sn=off&ss=on&sc=on&keyword=&sn1=&divpage=1

Note again the "bbs" in the URL.

This has a single row of "images" with the amplifier model number "FX2020D" shown by image in the rightmost cell, but the 4 cells to the left of the image are like the "All Wha..." link visible on Page [4]:  "best ph..."  "Online ..."  "Cheap V..."  "yhdpkjv..."
No prizes for filling in the missing pharmaceutical name in "Best V...".
Each one links to the same kind of partial HTML code listing cheap insurance, drugs, weight loss stuff, etc, etc.

The weird thing about these "product pages" is that they have "Copyright 1999-2009 Zeroboard" (http://www.zeroboard.com/) at the end of the page, and it's perfectly obvious by the http://belcat.com/bbs/view.php and http://belcat.com/bbs/zboard.php parts of the respective URLs that these aren't standard pages.

There are also "button" links to "List", "Modify", or "Delete".  The "List" link just takes you back to the thumbnail images.  The "Modify" opens a new page with some Chinese text and a "Move" button.  I haven't clicked the "Delete" link.

Do these links look like ones intended to only be available to the web master?  They don't appear on the normal pages with the thumbnail image links.

I would be grateful if some of you experts could give me some educated guesses as to whose content that advertising-related content is.  Does it appear to have been created by belcat.com, or could it be an accidental overspill from "zeroboard.com"?

Remembering that I was about to click the link to "Contact Us" and ask for spec on a product, I am now very wary about doing so in case I end up being subscribed to some bulletin boards and/or spammed with Viagra and Cialis offers.

If the content does appear to have been created by belcat.com (Chinese based) for their own ends, then they will obviously hear from me very loudly as will as many musical instrument retailers I know that they sell to.

What do you think?

Thanks in advance.
Bill
[+][-]06/18/09 05:20 AM, ID: 24656637

View this solution now by starting your 30-day free trial. Setting up your free trial is quick, easy, and secure. We will return you to this solution, unlocked, when you're done.

 

About this solution

Zone: Web Authoring
Tags: HTML
Sign Up Now!
Solution Provided By: twocandles
Participating Experts: 1
Solution Grade: A
 
 
[+][-]06/20/09 01:02 AM, ID: 24672877

Often, when Experts are collaborating with members who have asked questions, they will request additional information about the problem. Askers respond with an author comment like this one.

Start your 30-day free trial to view this Author Comment or ask the Experts your question.

 
[+][-]06/23/09 12:30 AM, ID: 24689674

Often, when Experts are collaborating with members who have asked questions, they will request additional information about the problem. Askers respond with an author comment like this one.

Start your 30-day free trial to view this Author Comment or ask the Experts your question.

 
[+][-]06/23/09 12:47 AM, ID: 24689747

At Experts Exchange, members can ask their questions to thousands of technology professionals, also known as Experts. Experts compete and collaborate to answer those questions by leaving comments like this one.

Start your 30-day free trial to view this Expert Comment or ask the Experts your question.

 
[+][-]06/24/09 01:32 AM, ID: 24699207

Often, when Experts are collaborating with members who have asked questions, they will request additional information about the problem. Askers respond with an author comment like this one.

Start your 30-day free trial to view this Author Comment or ask the Experts your question.

 
 
Loading Advertisement...
20091028-EE-VQP-86 - Hierarchy / EE_QW_EXPERT_20070906