ITIL® Foundation

Get this free withPremium
or preview the first video
4 Lessons
4:53:51 Total Length
  • About
  • Curriculum

About ITIL® Foundation:

ITIL® is a globally recognized Best Practices Framework that is being adopted by many organizations. Following ITIL® practices helps deliver IT Services effectively and efficiently, thereby delivering Value to Customers.

Edureka is a globally recognized brand of Brain4ce Education Solutions, an Acreditated Training Organization(ATO) registered with Peoplecert.img

Who should go for this course?

This course is designed for individuals who require a basic understanding of the ITIL® framework and how it may be used to enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization. IT professionals who are working within an organization that have adopted ITIL®, they need to be informed about and thereafter contribute to an ongoing service improvement program. CIOs, IT Managers, System Administrators, IT support teams, Database Administrators, System Analyst, Application Management Team, Application Development Team, Process Owners and Process Practitioners can take this course.

Why learn ITIL®?

ITIL® Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is for candidates wanting to understand how ITIL® framework can help them deliver IT services effectively and efficiently to the customers. To gain a basic understanding of the ITIL® framework and how it may be used to enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization.

Benefits: Certification in ITIL® has helped many move up in their career- from Technical to getting into Management level. It also has opened opportunities in the areas of training, consultancy and has greatly helped understanding the customer requirement to deliver IT services effectively and efficiently.


Anyone working in an IT service delivery, service management or service desk environment or where IT services are a core competency can take this course. Knowledge in IT is sufficient for the Foundation course. ITIL® Foundation certification is prerequisite to intermediate course. For MALC, 17 ITIL® credits is a prerequisite.

ITIL® Progression:

ITIL® is a most sought after certification that that holds global recognition. ITIL® offers three levels of certification.
i.  Foundation level
ii.  Intermediate & 
iii. Managing Across Life Cycle (MALC).

The Intermediate level has 2 streams called - Service Life Cycle (SLC) and Service Capabilities (SC).

The SLC stream comprises of five modules. They are :

1. Service Strategy
2. Service Design
3. Service Transition
4. Service Operations
5. Continual Service Operations

The Capability Stream comprises of 4 modules. They are :

1. Planning Protection & Optimization (PPO)
2. Operational Support Analysis (OSA)
3. Release Control & Validation (RCV) and
4. Service Offering and Agreements(SOA)

Participants successfully passing Foundation examination will earn 2 credits. This is a prerequisite to pursue Intermediate level. Successfully passing SLC stream modules will fetch 3 credits each and 4 credits each for Capability stream. A minimum of 17 credits is required if the participant has to take the MALC examination. Passing MALC will lead to becoming an ITIL® Expert. ITIL® Master is the next and highest qualification. For this, the prerequisite is ITIL® Expert qualification.

Course Objectives:

After the completion of ITIL® course at Edureka, you will be able to:

1. Understand the ITIL® 2011 qualification scheme
2. Explain the best practices of Service Management
3. Describe Service Lifecycle
4. Identify key principles and models of ITIL® 2011
5. Define generic concepts in ITIL® 2011
6. Discuss the processes, roles and functions in ITIL® 2011
7. Summarize the use of technology with ITIL® 2011
8. Successfully clear your ITIL® 2011 foundation exam.

Which Case-Studies will be a part of the Course?

There will be several exercises done during the training. This will call for involvement of all the participants. They should discuss among each other, work as a team and then present it. This reinforces learning. Trainer will also present Real Life Industry Examples.

About the Author

Edureka courses are specially curated by experts who monitor the IT industry with a hawk’s eye, and respond to expectations, changes and requirements from the industry, and incorporate them into our courses.
Posted: 22 August, 2016
1. Service Management as Practice
2. Service Strategy
3. Service Design
4. Service Transition
This is a certification course.
By completing this course, you are eligible for certification opportunities. This course provides the instruction and educational material needed to prepare for a third-party certification exam.
This is a course package.
Course packages provide a comprehensive learning plan at a discounted price, and may lead to certification opportunities.