ITIL® Foundation


Premium members can enroll in this course at no extra cost.

Learn More
or preview the first video
4 Lessons
4:52:49 Total Length
  • About
  • Curriculum

This course is designed for individuals who require a basic understanding of the ITIL® framework and how it may be used to enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization. IT professionals whose organization has adopted ITIL® need to be informed about the framework in order to contribute to an ongoing service improvement program. Completion of this course can help participants prepare for the ITIL® Foundation certification exam. This course is available to—and applicable for—individuals in the following roles: CIOs, IT Managers, System Administrators, IT support teams, Database Administrators, System Analyst, Application Management Team, Application Development Team, Process Owners, and Process Practitioners.

Why learn ITIL®?

The ITIL® Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is for candidates wanting to understand how the ITIL® framework can help them deliver IT services effectively and efficiently to the customers. Gaining a basic understanding of the ITIL® framework and how it may be used can enhance the quality of IT service management within an organization.

Benefits: Certification in ITIL® has helped many advance their career—from technical roles to management positions. It has also opened opportunities in the areas of training, consultancy, and has greatly helped individuals better understand the customer requirement to deliver IT services effectively and efficiently.


Anyone working in an IT service delivery, service management, service desk environment, or where IT services are a core competency can take this course. Basic knowledge in IT is essential for understanding material in the Foundation course. The ITIL® Foundation certification is a prerequisite to this intermediate course. For MALC, 17 ITIL® credits is a prerequisite.

Course Objectives:

After the completion of ITIL® course at Edureka, you will be able to:

1. Understand the ITIL® 2011 qualification scheme
2. Explain the best practices of Service Management
3. Describe Service Lifecycle
4. Identify key principles and models of ITIL® 2011
5. Define generic concepts in ITIL® 2011
6. Discuss the processes, roles and functions in ITIL® 2011
7. Summarize the use of technology with ITIL® 2011
8. Successfully prepare for your ITIL® 2011 foundation exam

Which Case-Studies Will Be Part of the Course?

There will be several exercises during the training. The trainer will present Real Life Industry Examples to reinforce learning of the material provided in these lessons.

ITIL® Progression:

ITIL® is a sought after certification that that holds global recognition. ITIL® offers three levels of certification:
i.  Foundation level
ii.  Intermediate & 
iii. Managing Across Life Cycle (MALC).

The Intermediate level has 2 streams called Service Life Cycle (SLC) and Service Capabilities (SC).

The SLC stream is comprised of five modules. They are:

1. Service Strategy
2. Service Design
3. Service Transition
4. Service Operations
5. Continual Service Operations

The Capability Stream is comprised of 4 modules. They are:

1. Planning Protection & Optimization (PPO)
2. Operational Support Analysis (OSA)
3. Release Control & Validation (RCV) and
4. Service Offering and Agreements (SOA)

Participants who successfully pass the Foundation examination will earn 2 credits. This is a prerequisite to pursue the Intermediate level. Successfully passing SLC stream modules will fetch 3 credits each and 4 credits each for Capability stream. A minimum of 17 credits is required if the participant has to take the MALC examination. Passing MALC will lead to an ITIL® Expert certification. ITIL® Master is the next and highest qualification. For this, the prerequisite is an ITIL® Expert qualification.

About ITIL® Foundation:

ITIL® is a globally recognized Best Practices Framework that is being adopted by many organizations. Following ITIL® practices helps deliver IT Services effectively and efficiently.

Edureka is a globally recognized brand of Brain4ce Education Solutions, an Accredited Training Organization(ATO) registered with Peoplecert.img.

About the Author

Edureka courses are specially curated by experts who monitor the IT industry with a hawk’s eye, and respond to expectations, changes and requirements from the industry, and incorporate them into our courses.
Posted: 22 August, 2016
1. Service Management as Practice
2. Service Strategy
3. Service Design
4. Service Transition
This is a certification course.
By completing this course, you are eligible for certification opportunities. This course provides the instruction and educational material needed to prepare for a third-party certification exam.
This is a course package.
Course packages provide a comprehensive learning plan at a discounted price, and may lead to certification opportunities.