Top Contributors

Off-site hosting

Wondering if any of you have taken the foray into off-site hosting with clients.

I have a client right now that has an on-premise setup for their servers.   Up time is critical to their business.    Some users are local, but many are remote and they are widespread.  However even the local users have thin clients and RDP into a RDS Server.   They also have limited IT staff for maintaining the servers (1 individual).

It seems like this is a perfect fit for off-site hosting.   But they've taken one swing at it already with not great results, so everything was pulled in-house by the last IT guy (who is no longer with the company).  I have some experience with off-site hosting with other clients and I haven't seen that many issues, but that experience is limited.  Most of my clients are still on-premise setups.

I'm looking at a few different providers (Rackspace, Liquid Web, etc) and wondering if anyone has any favorites they use, or issues with anyone that they have used.    Their main App is a custom developed Access application, which is still using a ACE BE.   Plan is to move it to SQL at some point, but that change keeps getting pushed down the list by other requirements.   Early on when I became involved with them they had corruption on a regular basis, but are now totally stable, so the need to move to SQL became less important (performance has never been an issue).

I'd ask this as a question, but it seems like it should be more of a discussion.

Jim.

Expert Comment

John Tsioumpris2017-01-16 08:23 AMID: 1962358
Lets face it ...if up time is critical going to an off site hosting is the only solution...
EIther MsSQL or MySQL as BE on beefy VPS with great bandwidth and carefully planning to provide just the minimum data in order to achieve maximum speed is the way to go...