• California,
  • United States

Top Contributors

[Expert Advice] – Reinstall Windows! – Really?

What are folks general feelings on those that have a habit of jumping into a question only to suggest a re-installation of Windows, rather than put any serious effort into nutting out a troublesome Operating System related problem?

Do question askers really need an “Expert” to get a suggestion like that? Is a suggestion like that even worthy of acknowledgement in points?

I assume people come to a forum like this to get help in resolving a problem they’re having – not to be given the same lame suggestions their ISP Support line or the kid next door who’s cluey with computers will give them.

I’ve been working with computers for over 20 years so yes, I’m fully aware that sometimes, the easiest way to fix a problem is just to backup, wipe the drive and start from scratch. But shouldn’t that be a last resort once all other avenues have been explored and exhausted?

Please discuss :)
View Previous CommentsLoad All Comments (45)

Expert Comment

Jackie Man2017-05-28 10:47 AMID: 2010587
If your OS is Windows Vista or above, try to do a system restore is the first response.

The system restore advice were one of the reasons I have got Windows Vista certification.

Expert Comment

Qlemo2017-05-28 11:28 AMID: 2010589
Jackie, as stated above several times it depends on what the Asker expects to get. If it would not help, you do not suggest it, no? You always loose something with a restore.

Expert Comment

Jackie Man2017-05-28 11:38 AMID: 2010590
System restore is different from factory restore.

Unless the user stores files on desktop, running system restore will not affect user files.

Expert Comment

Jackie Man2017-05-28 09:27 PMID: 2010798