• California,
  • United States

Top Contributors

What will 2018 bring

The Economist magazine suggests that, while things can always go bad economically, they are suggested, rather, that 2018 will be a good year.

I am hoping so.

I can contribute to a retirement plan out of earnings and I have been doing that for many years. I put in the maximum I could in 1994 and have put in the maximum ever since. I did so again at the end of 2017 and have one more year I can contribute before I am required to withdraw it over time. So a good economy and a good market will help the plan.

Unemployment is low here and in the U.S. and that is a good thing. Wages (including lower income people) are rising but not so much to overheat the economy.

So long as health is good (we are fortunate on that front). we will keep active and I will continue consulting for at least another year.

So 2018 looks better than 2017.  Let's hope!
View Previous CommentsLoad All Comments (10)

Author Comment

John Hurst2017-12-26 05:43 PMID: 2085335
I'm hearing that I should pre-pay my 2018 taxes to avoid the GOP Tax Bill already.

I just did my Company remittance today for 2017 (tax withheld on money the Corporation paid me). But I cannot settle up on personal taxes until next February or March.  Bon chance!

Author Comment

John Hurst2017-12-26 05:44 PMID: 2085336
2017 went reasonably well and I'm hoping for several successes in 2018

Me as well. Signs are for a decent year to come.

Expert Comment

Been a pretty solid year here as well.