Top Contributors

Architecture Roadmaps, Journey Maps, Life Cycle Maps, Heat Maps - which to use and when?

As an Enterprise Architect I have to provide visualisations that are simple to absorb but are concise and powerful enough to put across 'a picture' of what I am trying to convey. On almost all occasions there is a requirement to put a map of some form together to complement what ever it is I have been asked.

The key question that frequently goes through my mind at this point is which type of map should I use and the answer is always linked to the original question for which I have undertaken the architectural piece of work in the first place. If you are unsure then ASK the sponsor and check the form of presentation they are looking for. For example, a roadmap is traditionally based on activities against a time line whereas a journey map doesn't care about time but indicates the steps or stages that might be within a given subject or process.

Let's take moving house as a scenario and you wanted to create a visualisation for this - the likelihood is that you would use a journey map for this that highlights all of the stages - finding the house, checking out schools & local facilities, stamp duty and tax band costs, raising finance, contacting an estate agent, instructing a solicitor, booking removal services, selling your existing property, the list is endless. However, it indicates ALL of the steps that you might need to undertake within the process but does not touch or when any of these events may need to take place - it could be over two months or two years, we don't really care about that.

In a roadmap though this highlights when an activity will be undertaken as it has a timeline on the axis. Roadmaps are great to articulate when activities are planned for - a Gantt chart in a project plan is a good roadmap example.