Automount server on Netware network

I need to disable the automount feature (chooser) so that when a user restarts the computer will not attempt to logon to the server.  I have new users on computers that belonged to someone else.  I already tried deleting preferences files and looked for invisible files but to no avail.  Thanks.
khaymanAsked:
Who is Participating?

Improve company productivity with a Business Account.Sign Up

x
 
jvieiraConnect With a Mentor Commented:
If you reload your system software that should take care of it.  All your settings will be put back to default but that should only take a few minutes of your time to reconfigure.  This is the only way to do it since you don't know the password.
0
 
weedCommented:
open the chooser, click on the nifty lil appleshare icon. A list of servers should pop up. double click the server thats automounting and a new dialog should pop up with items on that server that are shared. next to those items should be a checkbox. if that checkbox is checked your computer will mount that volume on startup. so...uncheck the box. thats that.
0
 
khaymanAuthor Commented:
Yes, I appreciate the quick response but I do not know the passwords for the previous users so therefore I cannot do what you suggest.  There most be some file, etc. where this information is stored.  How do I clear it.  Is there a way to zap the Chooser?  I kinda remember hearing something to that effect.

Thanks.
0
 
weedCommented:
If ya dont know the password you arent going to get very far. If there was a file you could delete to get around the password the whole system would be useless and would present a security hole the size of nebraska. The only way to get it to not automount is to uncheck the box..or turn filesharing off...heh
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.