Unsharing a Volume

I have a situation that pops up from time to time.  A user may share a directory on their hard drive and then either get a new PC with a different name or is eliminated from the LAN.  How can I UNSHARE a volume from the PC of a user that was using that volume?  For example, John Doe left the company and subsequently took his PC.  John was sharing his C: drive with 20 people.  Now that John's pc is gone how can I from one of the 20 that was logging into John's shared volume stop the process.  On Jane's PC, when she logs on it asks for the password to John's shared volume and Jane just joined the circus.  How do I get rid of the NAG screen?
edfowlerAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
diggzCommented:
connect a computer with john doe's name in the ID tab of network properties. create all the directories that are virtually shared on john's machine. if they are automatically shared after creation, unshare them and you're all done. if they are not shared automatically, share them, and then unshare them.

so there.


0
 
TinkererCommented:
That would mean that they have a drive maped to his now nonexistent system?
If the system is gone completly then with win95 it was not shared from his drive or it should not be asking you to log in.. is the lan win95 only?

If it is giving an error saying his system is unavilable then,
from Jane's system you need to go into the my computer icon and right click on the drive maped to his old system and click dissconnect...
0
 
edfowlerAuthor Commented:
LAN is 90% WIN95.  In some cases the SHARER is available and in some case not.  Either way, I wish to unsubscribe, if you will, to a shared valume from the SHAREE.

At one time I knew the answer but have forgotten it.  I should not have to alter anything on either PC.
0
Free Tool: SSL Checker

Scans your site and returns information about your SSL implementation and certificate. Helpful for debugging and validating your SSL configuration.

One of a set of tools we are providing to everyone as a way of saying thank you for being a part of the community.

 
boer5178Commented:
one thing that might help you out is if you go into your properties of your network neighborhood, you can select a option under your client for microsoft networks(I am assuming that your are concerned with just the peer to peer connections in your office) you will have something called log in and restore connections and quick login.  IF you select Quick login, it will not check if the computer is there, just assume that it is.  IT will not give that annoying message until you try to access the computer that is not there.

hope it helps

0
 
edfowlerAuthor Commented:
Close, but not the answer I'm looking for.  Whether I have the Quick Logon selected or not does not offer me the opportunity to remove the computer from using another's shared volume.

Keep in mind, in a perfect world, as an IT Mngr. I am fully aware of all shares and therefore can unshare from the source or can confirm the share from the client then unmapp the drive.  Also, keep in mind, that in that same perfect world, my users remember all passwords and shares in the first place.  However, in the real world we just aren't that fortunate.

Thanks for the suggestion...you are closer than most thusfar.
0
 
khemicalsCommented:
right click on the connection and select disconnect, see if that does it
0
 
diggzCommented:
err..

virtually shared means something like the ghost-shared directories from john's old machine that keeps showing even if john's dead or whatever.

0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.