Linux Kernel Numbering

I have Redhat Linux 6.0 with a 2.2.5-15 kernel.  What does that -15 on the end mean?  If I am correct, the first number is the major version number, the second is the minor revision, and the last is the patch how does the extra digits come into play?
Who is Participating?
atroxConnect With a Mentor Commented:
first number is major rev
second number is minor rev
third is patch level (minor-minor rev)

second number is even for stable production releases
second number is odd for beta and in prod releases
clsmootheAuthor Commented:
Edited text of question.
RedHat makes some modifications to the stock kernels to help them with support calls etc... You have ver 15 of thier modified kernel.
Never miss a deadline with

The revolutionary project management tool is here!   Plan visually with a single glance and make sure your projects get done.

As far as I know, here's how things work:
The first number is the major realease number.
The second number is the latest stable brach of that release number.
The third is the minor release number.
The fourth is the patch number.

This can be checked at:
clsmootheAuthor Commented:
I think iharding was on the mark, I don't think the numbering scheme is broken up into 4 separate sections.  At least according to my new book Running Linux
clsmootheAuthor Commented:
Thanks, for the input
All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.