Go Premium for a chance to win a PS4. Enter to Win

x
  • Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 1141
  • Last Modified:

user profile problem - moving / deleting files are not retained - at next logon they revert

Have a simple Win2k server install with XP workstations. Roaming profiles are installed. There is a home subdir under each user profile which is mapped as the home folder for each user. Any file deletes/moves made in that directory appear to occur ok but the next time the user logs on the changes are lost and the deleted/moved files are back as they were.

I believe this is a user access permission problem but cannot see where it is coming from. The user has full access rights to the directory and the top level sharing permissions on the Users folder appears to be correct. The user can create directories and files, modify files etc. - it is only when they try to delete or move files that the problem occurs.

Thks for any suggestions
0
petervane
Asked:
petervane
  • 2
  • 2
1 Solution
 
gemartiCommented:
This isn't much help, but...

Files and Folders Reappear After Deletion in a Cached Profile
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;283902&Product=win2000
0
 
gemartiCommented:
The Cache Option for Offline Files Must Be Disabled on Roaming User Profile Shares
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;287566&Product=win2000
0
 
alphenCommented:
Hi Peter,

I think this might be the problem:

Your profile dirs reside on the server, don't they? Whell, when a user logs on, his/her entire profile dir is copied to the workstation. As you said, you've mapped a drive to the subfolder 'Home'. This dir is also copied to the workstation. But whenever the user changes a file, he/she does this on the server, through the drive mapping. So when the user changes a file, the file on the server differs from the file that is copied to the workstation during the logon proces. When the user logs off at the end of the day, the entire profile dir is copied back to the server. During this proces W2K checks the date/time stamp of a file. The file that was changed (the one on the server) will have a newer time stamp than the unchanged one that is copied back. So this file won't be replaced and the changes will NOT be discarded. But when the user deletes a file (on the server through the mapping) and the profile dir is copied back during the logoff process, the deleted file will still be in this dir, but not on the server. In this case W2K copies the 'deleted' file back into its original folder on the server. The same applies to moved files.

To resolve this problem, you should place the 'Home' dirs outside the user profile, so that this dir will not be copied to and from the workstation during logon and logoff. For example, place the 'home' dirs in a dir named Home next to the profile dir, and name the home dirs after the logon name of the specific users. Share those dirs as you did before, and no-one will even notice the change, except for that their logon and logoff time will be shortened considerably. (because their home folder doesn't have to be copied to their workstation)

Hopefully this is the answer to your problem!

Kind Regards, Frans
0
 
sr75Commented:
Go into one of the users' profile and look for a file called ntuser.dat  if it is not there, look for a file called ntuser.man.  These are hidden files so you will have to unhide them.  Which one is there?

0
 
sr75Commented:
oops.. disregard previous comment.  I went to far and have been up toooo late.
0

Featured Post

Free Tool: Path Explorer

An intuitive utility to help find the CSS path to UI elements on a webpage. These paths are used frequently in a variety of front-end development and QA automation tasks.

One of a set of tools we're offering as a way of saying thank you for being a part of the community.

  • 2
  • 2
Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now