We help IT Professionals succeed at work.

Getting "Delivery Status Notification (Failure)" when sending outside my LAN. Using W2K3

Phoenix92x asked
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2010-03-05
Okay, here's my issue. First of all, I'm not using exchange, I'm just using regular W2K3 Enterprise. I posted it here to make sure that it would be treated as a mail issue.
I have relaying setup to allow anyone within the network to relay. I have authentication through Active Directory. the e-mail name is phoenix@(domain)
I can send and recieve internally, and recieve externally, but cannot send externally. No matter who I send the message to externally I always get the "Delivery Status Notification (Failure)" when I send.
I would appreciate the help, thank you
Watch Question

What's the exact contents of your Delivery Status Notification?

Hi Phoenix92x,

Do you have a firewall with allow SMPT outgoing rules in place and have you checked that the SMTP relay can do DNS lookups?


Reporting-MTA: dns;chimera.main.phoenix0.net
Received-From-MTA: dns;melchoir
Arrival-Date: Mon, 29 Mar 2004 22:49:10 -0600

Final-Recipient: rfc822;brstickle@(domain removed for recipient's privacy)
Action: failed
Status: 5.3.0
Diagnostic-Code: smtp;553 5.3.0 DNSBL:To request removal of,, please send an E-mail to removeme@(domain removed for recipient's privacy)

I don't have a firewall but I do have a router with NAT. The NAT is set to allow port 25 and 110 through to where I have the server.

Thanks folks


how do I check to see if the SMTP relay can do DNS lookups?


I'll post another one once I return from a site today. I think the current one is a DNS blacklist. The other one should help out more
Yes, that server is definitely blacklisted.  http://openrbl.org/ip/68/77/26/95.htm


Reporting-MTA: dns;nscollege-xmb01.nscollegeprep.cps.k12.il.us
Received-From-MTA: dns;smtp810.mail.sc5.yahoo.com
Arrival-Date: Mon, 29 Mar 2004 22:51:26 -0600

Final-Recipient: rfc822;stickleb05@northsideprep.org
Action: failed
Status: 5.1.1

there's what I get when I send out to my school.

Wait, who's blacklisting my server?
Is it blacklisted to everyone or just to certain servers?
Follow the link I posted and it will show you who is blacklisting you, and how to get removed.
Unfortunately, "5.1.1" isn't enough information to go by.  Do you get this when you send to anyone, or just that address?  
Actually, the problem you're having sending mail to stickleb05@northsideprep.org is because there's no such user.  When I send email to that user, it bounces as undeliverable because the address is invalid.


visioneer, how do I get the DNS unblacklisted? the page wasn't very clear IMHO. As to the problem with the user, I figured that one out. The faculty group uses @northsideprep.org, the student group uses students.northsideprep.org SO that fixed that =).
I'm going to give you the poitns visioneer, but I'd like you to tell me how to get unblacklisted first if you please
Unlock this solution and get a sample of our free trial.
(No credit card required)
Actually, you may be able to get off of a couple of them.  Follow each blacklist link on http://openrbl.org/ip/68/77/26/95.htm and read the instructions.


ok, thank you very much visioneer,
these points go to you!
Unlock the solution to this question.
Thanks for using Experts Exchange.

Please provide your email to receive a sample view!

*This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Please enter a first name

Please enter a last name

8+ characters (letters, numbers, and a symbol)

By clicking, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.