We help IT Professionals succeed at work.

Unable to send message to certian customers error 5.5.0 553 5.1.8

Emmis asked
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2007-12-19
We are getting the below error when sending to one of out customers.  HAve done a search on it and can't find any info on it.  Has anyone seen this?  Please help shed som light with this issue.


There was a SMTP communication problem with the recipient's email server.  Please contact your system administrator.
            <phoradbefp1.us.ecc.ads #5.5.0 smtp;553 sorry, your envelope sender is invalid (#5.1.8)>
Watch Question

Is this between Exchange servers in one organization?


After reading that again, I'll assume "customer" is at a remote system.  The remote server is telling you it doesnt like the sender's address.  It could be formatted incorrectly or not in DNS.  Sendmail, for example, can require that the sender domain exist in DNS.  If it does not, it will say "sender domain must exist".  Different servers can return different errors.  I don't recognize the server that sent that error.  Some servers also require the from field to be encapsulated in <> brackets.  It's RFC, but some servers don't do it.  Most servers don't require it either.

I would telnet to the destination server on port 25 and test a manual connect to see what it says.  I can help with that if you provide the recipient's email address.





I could telnet to mail1.cbs.com 25 and get a response back when I typed HELO. Not sure on what to test?


OK, cbs.com has 3 MXs:

mail1.cbs.com 10
mail2.cbs.com 10
mail3.cbs.com 30

I tried mail1 and here is the result:

220 mail.cbs.com ESMTP
helo disney.com
250 mail.cbs.com
mail from:anyone@disney.com
250 ok
rcpt to:ebschecter@cbs.com
250 ok
rcpt to:cpboyd@cbs.com
250 ok
rcpt to:jgpearlman@cbs.com
250 ok
rcpt to:cagowin@cbs.com
250 ok
rcpt to:mickeymouse@cbs.com
250 ok
354 go ahead

That's telling me that it doesnt like something with the way you are presenting the envelope headers.

Can you please send a message to dagiaramita@yahoo.com?  I want to look at the headers of the note you send to see if there is anything wrong.



Got it.  It looks great.  I also checked out your domain and it's pretty flawless.  Is it possible for you to send a test to one of the cbs.com addresses from an external ISP like yahoo or hotmail to see if it's delivered.  Somehow I think it will be which means there is some sort of incompatiblity between their domain and yours.

Also, can you please try a telnet transaction from your SMTP server?

Do it like this:

telnet mail1.cbs.com
helo yourdomain.com <---- put your domain here
mail from: your email address <-- put your email address here
rcpt to: cpboyd@cbs.com

RIGHT AFTER that we're looking for "250 OK".  If you don't get it, send a note to cpboyd from Outlook and see if it bounces.  If it doesnt, then they have an intermitent error.  If it does, then we have a different problem.  On a Sendmail type gateway (I think they use Qmail), check rules are usually delayed until after rcpt to.  If you get past that, you're usually home free.



Can not telnet to mail1.cbs.com port 25, I get:

telnet mail1.cbs.com 25
Connecting To mail1.cbs.com...Could not open a connection to host on port 25 : Connect failed


I was able to send a test message and they were able to reply with no problems.  I now believe that it lies within our Phoenix, AZ site maybe?  Here is the header info that I received from the reply.


Microsoft Mail Internet Headers Version 2.0
Received: from owa2.us.ecc.ads ([]) by CORPE2KCLUSTER.us.ecc.ads with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6713);
       Wed, 7 Apr 2004 09:55:35 -0500
Received: from floyd.cinergycom.net ([]) by owa2.us.ecc.ads with Microsoft SMTPSVC(5.0.2195.6713);
       Wed, 7 Apr 2004 09:55:35 -0500
Received: from root by floyd.cinergycom.net with cleanmail-scanned (Exim 4.24)
      id 1BBESk-0002R8-NA
      for sswhitlow@emmis.com; Wed, 07 Apr 2004 09:55:34 -0500
Received: by cleanmail.com (CleanMail v3.0) id 08546.1081349697.0007#1BBES1-0002AM-3d; Wed, 07 Apr 2004 09:55:34 -0500 (CDT)
Received: from web199.nyc01.cbsig.net ([])
      by floyd.cinergycom.net with smtp (Exim 4.24)
      id 1BBES1-0002AM-3d
      for sswhitlow@emmis.com; Wed, 07 Apr 2004 09:54:49 -0500
Received: (qmail 13906 invoked from network); 7 Apr 2004 14:54:48 -0000
Received: from unknown (HELO nychubg02.cbs.com) (
  by mail2.cbs.com with SMTP; 7 Apr 2004 14:54:48 -0000
Received: by nychubg02.cbs.com with Internet Mail Service (5.5.2656.59)
      id <17MX55BQ>; Wed, 7 Apr 2004 10:44:32 -0400
Message-ID: <DBEE08BC13B0D4119D0E0002555805FD02ADCCC3@laxeyemlacaax02.cbs.com>
From: "Boyd, Colin P" <cpboyd@cbs.com>
To: Steven Whitlow <sswhitlow@emmis.com>
Subject: RE: Test Email From Emmis Communications
Date: Wed, 7 Apr 2004 10:54:48 -0400
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Mailer: Internet Mail Service (5.5.2656.59)
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
X-CCC-Cleanmail-Spam-Version: 1.0
X-CCC-Cleanmail-Spam-Extended-Info: SA score = -3.8/5.0
      * 0.1 HTML_70_80 BODY: Message is 70% to 80% HTML
      * 0.1 HTML_FONTCOLOR_UNKNOWN BODY: HTML font color is unknown to us
      * 0.1 HTML_MESSAGE BODY: HTML included in message
      * 0.3 HTML_FONT_BIG BODY: HTML has a big font
      * -4.4 BAYES_00 BODY: Bayesian spam probability is 0 to 1%
      * [score: 0.0000]
X-CCC-Cleanmail-Spam-Info: SA score = -3.8/5.0
X-CCC-Cleanmail-Spam: No spam detected
X-Virus-Scanned-By: CleanMail v3.0
Return-Path: cpboyd@cbs.com
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 07 Apr 2004 14:55:35.0648 (UTC) FILETIME=[61F4EE00:01C41CB0]

Content-Type: text/plain;

Content-Type: text/html;



Here is some more info that I received.


Here's the problem in Phoenix, in case it wasn't clearly explained:
The South Mt. Users Association List server is used to disseminate activity at the transmitter sites. Its address is smua@broadcast.net.
I am the local list administrator for the group, but Dave Biondi and others really have control over it at the broadcast.net domain.
An Emmis employee with the address of ccreekmore@ktar.com has rights to post to the list server. However, and here's the weird thing, some (but not all) of his posts make it to the group list, but NONE of them make it to me, ebschecter@cbs.com.
It appears that something in the header info causes the CBS messaging units to identify this as spam. Possibly, this site may give you more of an idea of what might be going on: http://mailerrors.cbs.com/badhelo.html
I'm not sure who else can't receive his e-mail, but others have had to forward on his behalf frequently. I know that broadcast.net is using spamcop or similar to reject known spam sources.
If you would like to subscribe yourself to the list server for testing purposes, you may self subscribe here: http://www.broadcast.net/mailman/listinfo/smua
As KKLT is doing a lot of work on South Mt., and communications related to their construction need to be relayed in a timely manner.
Thanks in advance for your assistance.

So you are saying that you can send a message from a different site and all is well?  Is the original user still affected by the problem?  Are you able to reproduce that you can consistently sent and the other sender cannot?  If so, that will narrow it down for us.

Try moving the affected user's mailbox to another site.

Sorry for the late reply - been REAL busy at work.



It's the whole site.  I can send and receive from CBS from corporate but a user in AZ can not.  Yes, it is still happening.

Can you move one person's mailbox to another site and see if it works?  I know this sounds futile, but this will tell me if you have some sort of client issue at that site, or if addressing is messed up.

I have plenty of ideas on how to proceed, I just need that info.



Found out that our Phoenix site is sending their mail out thier pix.  So, all incoming mail comes into x.x.179.16 and all their mail goes out x.x.137.66.  They are currently the only site like this.



I also change the smtp banner playing around to see if I could get it to work and failed.

Make sure that MailGuard is turned off on the PIX and make sure that the sending IP has a PTR record.



I will find out about the mailgaurd, not sure.  But when you ssay PTR record your talk about what name to the x.x.x.66 ip which is their pix?

It doesnt matter what name as long as a PTR record exists.  Any host that delivers email to the Internet needs to have a PTR for it's IP address.



I want to force all outgoing email to use the the corporate exchange server.  What is the best method for that?

Unlock this solution and get a sample of our free trial.
(No credit card required)
Unlock the solution to this question.
Thanks for using Experts Exchange.

Please provide your email to receive a sample view!

*This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.


Please enter a first name

Please enter a last name

8+ characters (letters, numbers, and a symbol)

By clicking, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.