"USERS" and "Domain Users" Group

What is the difference between the USERS and the Domain Users groups?

I noticed that USERS have read/list permissions by default to server directories. What's the point of adding the DOMAIN USERS group in this case, and do I need to REMOVE the USERS group if I wnat to lock down a directory?
PilotGavAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
012UvongoConnect With a Mentor Commented:
The Users Group is a Local Group and the Domain Users is a global group
Member of the Users Group have rights on their Workstations to run applications to create local users and to manage them, they are able to shutdown and lock their workstations Domain Users, all users are part of this global group and the global group is part of the local Users Group of each workstation in the domain.

Remember.
U = User in Global Groups
G = Global Groups in Local Groups
L = Local Groups permissions on your resource
Y = your resource

Native mode
U= Users
G= Global groups
U = Universal groups
L = Local groups
P = Permissions

and

U= Users
U= Universal groups
L = Local groups
P = Permissions


Hope this helps
Uvongo
0
 
jodypeetCommented:
Think of domain users as "authenticated users" and users as "everyone" ...you  would normally remove the evryone group and only allow domain users. Or i would anyway .

Hope it helps
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.