Go Premium for a chance to win a PS4. Enter to Win


DNSBL bl.spamcop.net>

Posted on 2004-09-23
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2008-03-06
we ve been experiencing mail problem with the following DNSBL bl.spamcop.net>
it looks like a settings on the symantec mail securuty for exchange
it is dns black list do i need to disable or enable something in symantec
does any one know how to resolved this?
Question by:franckmottin
  • 2
  • 2

Expert Comment

by:Jeff Rodgers
ID: 12133548
What version of Exchange?  Exchange 2003 will allow utilization of DNSBL.

If the issue is Symantec Mail Security than you can remove the Block list by opening up the Mail Security Web interface and going to Configuration ->Spam Prevention and deleting the bl.spamcop.net.

Alternatively in Exchnage 2003 go into System Manager, look in Global Settings,Message Delivery Properties. Look under Connection Filtering and Delete bl.spamcop.net .

Hope that helps!

Author Comment

ID: 12133652
i am using exchange2000, i can not see spam prevention option under configuration and unless mistaken there is no record bl.spamcop.net anywhere
i did find out that we have been black listed by www.spamcop.net 
any other ideas are welcome

Accepted Solution

Jeff Rodgers earned 2000 total points
ID: 12133913
My Condolences... SPAMCOP can be brutal when attempting to remove your name from their list.  You will need to contact them directly.

I have had clients who were on the list.  Spamcop refused their email ( their domain was on the spamlist...)

As for the settings for SPAM PREVENTION you may have to dig a little deeper...I am using the latest version(4.5.2), older versions had it located elsewhere...
ALso, I don't know that Exchange 2000 had any features for Block Lists as SPAM wasn't as big an issue back in 99 when they were developing it.
As far as SPAMCOP is concerned ...here is what they have to say;

If you have stopped the spam, you will be delisted automatically a maximum of 48 hours from the most recent spam complaint. Please do not write asking to be delisted sooner unless you believe there is some error in SpamCop's logic. Systems known to send spam are listed for up to 48 hours even if there is a "resolution" to the "issue". Often, what happens once can happen again.

Stop the spam (reports). Barring any unusual circumstances (you receive erroneous spam reports), this is your only option. Secure open relays and kick the spammers off your servers - and keep them off!

If you have recently closed an open relay, check to see if it is listed with www.ordb.org (off site link). If it is listed, ask for a re-test. Once ordb has certified your relay as secure, return to http://spamcop.net/bl.shtml to expedite the removal of your server from the list. Or just wait the 48 hours and it will be delisted automatically.

If your server is still open to relaying spam, SpamCop's blocking is probably the least of your problems. First fix the security problem, close the relay! This alone will eventually result in all sane blocking lists delisting your server automatically (including SpamCop). See above.

If people report your site as a source of spam, it will be listed. If people stop reporting your site as a source of spam, it will be de-listed after 48 hours. The only way you can be removed from this list is to avoid users reporting your site as a source of spam - either by changing your behavior, or by negotiating a cease-fire with the unhappy users.

If you need specific information about how to avoid spam complaints (and thus being listed), see:
How can I avoid spam reports?
Perform the am I listed lookup on your mailserver IP and consider the evidence presented.

If you have done all of the above and still have questions or problems, you may email bl@admin.spamcop.net for further information. Please be sure to include the IP involved. Please do not ask to be delisted unless you feel SpamCop has made some mistake.

Good Luck

Author Comment

ID: 12134062
yes i read that text but it is linked to 2 users here which i know send spam, very weird
relay is open on our server
anyway thanks for that i ll wait a bit longer to see what happen

Featured Post

 The Evil-ution of Network Security Threats

What are the hacks that forever changed the security industry? To answer that question, we created an exciting new eBook that takes you on a trip through hacking history. It explores the top hacks from the 80s to 2010s, why they mattered, and how the security industry responded.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

Let's take a look into the basics of ransomware—how it spreads, how it can hurt us, and why a disaster recovery plan is important.
Securing your business data in current era should be your biggest priority. Numerous people are unaware of the fact that insiders commit more than 60 percent of security breaches. You need to figure out the underlying cause and invoke your potential…
Nobody understands Phishing better than an anti-spam company. That’s why we are providing Phishing Awareness Training to our customers. According to a report by Verizon, only 3% of targeted users report malicious emails to management. With compan…
When cloud platforms entered the scene, users and companies jumped on board to take advantage of the many benefits, like the ability to work and connect with company information from various locations. What many didn't foresee was the increased risk…

824 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question