Ensuring multiple users of a local site in dreamweaver can only open a file as read-only if another user is editing that file.

I have set a up a shared network folder as a local site for multiple users in dreamweaver. There is no remote site as the users want to upload via FTP explorer to the server. The problem is that when one of the users has a file open, another user can open the same file and make changes too thereby running the risk of overwriting each others work. I would have thought that when one user had a file open, another user would have only been able to view it as read only? Is there anyway to make this the case?
keithHetheringtonAsked:
Who is Participating?
I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

Saqib KhanSenior DeveloperCommented:
Maybe You Should Install Visual Source Safe. VSS will do it for u.
0
keithHetheringtonAuthor Commented:
We don't want to go down the the route of installing Visual Source Safe. Is there any other way around the problem?
0
rockmansatticCommented:
No, DW is not designed for that.  One licence per workstation is thier concern; therefore only one person per local HD.

Rockman
0
Cloud Class® Course: Microsoft Azure 2017

Azure has a changed a lot since it was originally introduce by adding new services and features. Do you know everything you need to about Azure? This course will teach you about the Azure App Service, monitoring and application insights, DevOps, and Team Services.

EsopoCommented:
We had that issue at the last place I worked. We dealt with it by having good verbal communication:
P1: "who has #4?"
P2: "Me, you need it?"
P1: "yeap. let me know, alright?"
P2: "Ok. I'll be done in 5 mins"
...5 mins later...
P2: "Done. It's yours"
P1: "thank you."

The only alternative I see is the use of a third-party software to manage your folder(s), or simply force a policy of having a secondary "edit" folder where all files must be copied to and edited from and then moved over back to the main folder. This will cause overwrite messages when someone else is editing the file.
0
keithHetheringtonAuthor Commented:
I don't know if good communication is the key as there are a couple of publishers in different offices so that won't work. I've now set a replica folder on the same server and using it as a remote so now I can enable check in/check out and am able to keep track of who is working on what. Although when i go to override a file someone has checked out, it allows me to open it for editing  and does'nt prompt me to override their checkin. I take it this has something to do with the fact that I'm using a shared network folder as a local site?any way to ensure dreamweaver prompts the user that the file is already checked out before they check it out?
0
EsopoCommented:
>>now I can enable check in/check out<<
I don't understand this. Is this a technical term, or a word  you use to describe the use of multiple folders?

If the latter, can you explain the process a bit more thoroughly so that we can provide suggestions?
0
keithHetheringtonAuthor Commented:
The check in/out feature in dreamweaver:
"The Check In/Check Out system helps Web developers in a collaborative environment manage a Web site's files. The Check In/Check Out option allows only one person to work on a file at a time, to prevent team members from overwriting each other's changes. " - http://www.macromedia.com/cfusion/knowledgebase/index.cfm?id=tn_15336

I've used this feature before and it prompted the user if they were going open(check out) a file that someone else had currently checked out. The difference this time is that I am not being prompted - my local copy of the site is on a shared network site on this occasion as opposed to being local to each machine as on previous occasions.
0
EsopoCommented:
I suggest that this Q doesn't get deleted. The info is useful.

Esopo.
0
moduloCommented:
PAQed with points refunded (250)

modulo
Community Support Moderator
0

Experts Exchange Solution brought to you by

Your issues matter to us.

Facing a tech roadblock? Get the help and guidance you need from experienced professionals who care. Ask your question anytime, anywhere, with no hassle.

Start your 7-day free trial
It's more than this solution.Get answers and train to solve all your tech problems - anytime, anywhere.Try it for free Edge Out The Competitionfor your dream job with proven skills and certifications.Get started today Stand Outas the employee with proven skills.Start learning today for free Move Your Career Forwardwith certification training in the latest technologies.Start your trial today
Adobe Dreamweaver

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.

Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.