dangerous site

Posted on 2005-03-06
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2010-04-11
I hope I am asking the right person this question. Here is my delima.
When I surf different advertising websites to gain traffic for my website, there is one site in the ad network of many servers that is a pain to work around.
When this site comes up in my browser it immediately places numerous popups. When I try to leave by closing the windows, it creates more. In the background it tries to install activex. It even changes favorites and ads programs. I have asked for assistance from the advertising servers but get no response. I know what I would like to do or have done, because this is very unethical, but first do you have any suggestions?

Thank You
Question by:freedomline
Welcome to Experts Exchange

Add your voice to the tech community where 5M+ people just like you are talking about what matters.

  • Help others & share knowledge
  • Earn cash & points
  • Learn & ask questions
  • 2

Accepted Solution

BoyBlueSky earned 750 total points
ID: 13472825
I do not know if it would help, but you can always report their behavior to the Better Business Bureau at www.bbb.com.  The hope would be that the companies paying them to advertise would not want to be associated with them anymore which may indirectly curve their activities.

On the more technical side, you could add their address to your hosts file.  This would help block your computer from accessing the site.  For more about this and a very useful free hosts file update, I recommend checking out the following site:

LVL 38

Expert Comment

by:Rich Rumble
ID: 13472887
Using FireFox http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/ I saw no pop-up's, just a Java pop-over. Installing programs with out your concent is against US law now: http://thomas.loc.gov/cgi-bin/bdquery/z?d108:HR02929:@@@L&summ2=m&
However there is a loop-hole pointed out in this article:
and summarized here: http://yro.slashdot.org/article.pl?sid=05/02/18/143217&from=rss

you can send complaints to the FED's and the ISP of this site, and perhaps the registrar... this site appears to be based out of austria so I'm not sure the US federal government can do much... and I definatly don't know about the austrian govt.

Write to these people:
Abuse Inode       abuse@inode.at ----->  remarks:      please report abuse incidents (eg network scanning, spam, etc.) <-------------
Billing Contact Email:                       fritz.bock@notebock.com
Technical Contact Email:                     bizregistration@netsol.com
Administrative Contact Email:                fritz.bock@notebock.com
Abuse   Netsol        abuse@netsol.com
Inode e-mail:         dom-reg@inode.at
Inode e-mail:         office@inode.at

Here is the whois on the ISP (rather the ip space that itwork.biz has purchased from INODE.AT www.inode.at)
[Querying whois.ripe.net]
% This is the RIPE Whois query server #2.
% The objects are in RPSL format.
% Rights restricted by copyright.
% See http://www.ripe.net/db/copyright.html

inetnum: - (they own 15 ip address's)
netname:      Concept-Computer-Handels-GmbH
descr:        Concept Computer Handels GmbH
descr:        Fritz Bock
descr:        Wien
country:      AT
admin-c:      AH10082-RIPE
tech-c:       AH10082-RIPE
status:       ASSIGNED PA
notify:       ip-admin@inode.at
mnt-by:       AT-INODE-DOM
changed:      ip-admin@inode.at 20030521
source:       RIPE
descr:        inode Internet
origin:       AS8514
mnt-by:       AT-INODE-DOM
changed:      christian.steger@hm.inode.at 20021202
source:       RIPE
role:         AT.INODE Hostmaster
address:      Inode Telekommunikationsdienstleistungs GmbH
address:      Technical Center
address:      Shuttleworth Strasse 4-8 - Object 50
address:      1210 Vienna
address:      Austria
e-mail:       hostmaster@inode.at
admin-c:      AH10082-RIPE
tech-c:       AH10082-RIPE
nic-hdl:      AH10082-RIPE
----->  remarks:      please report abuse incidents (eg network scanning, spam, etc.) <-------------
remarks:      ONLY to < abuse@inode.at >
notify:       ip-admin@inode.at
mnt-by:       AT-INODE-DOM
changed:      christian.steger@cc.inode.at 20050121
source:       RIPE


Author Comment

ID: 13473059
I didn't know that I could only accept one answer. Both of these I will use. However, richrumble did offer more usable details.
Thanks to both of you for the valuable input. Both will be used.

LVL 38

Expert Comment

by:Rich Rumble
ID: 13473151
You can ask the admins to open it back up or have them split the points. The points can be split...
http://www.experts-exchange.com/Community_Support/ (ask a question here, they will split it for you, takes no points)

Featured Post

Independent Software Vendors: We Want Your Opinion

We value your feedback.

Take our survey and automatically be enter to win anyone of the following:
Yeti Cooler, Amazon eGift Card, and Movie eGift Card!

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

This article is written by John Gates, CISSP. Gates, the SNUG President-Elect, currently holds the position of Manager of Information Systems at Lake Park High School in Roselle, Illinois.
Check out the latest tech news, community articles, and expert highlights in August's newsletter.
Sending a Secure fax is easy with eFax Corporate (http://www.enterprise.efax.com). First, just open a new email message. In the To field, type your recipient's fax number @efaxsend.com. You can even send a secure international fax — just include t…
Email security requires an ever evolving service that stays up to date with counter-evolving threats. The Email Laundry perform Research and Development to ensure their email security service evolves faster than cyber criminals. We apply our Threat…

764 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question