How do password protect computers in My Network Places?

I have a windows 2003 domain.  100+ workstations.  At any time from any computer I can view "my Network places" and open each computer.  I only see shares not the entire drive.  How can I remove and or password protect the computers from "my network places"?  
rmckolayAsked:
Who is Participating?
I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

Jay_Jay70Commented:
Hi techwizz40,

you want to remove them, turn off netbios, be aware that this provides name resolution though and may cause you other problems, why not just block off my network places with a GPO?

Cheers!
0
Jay_Jay70Commented:
rmckolay,

USer config\Administrative Templates\Desktop\Hide My Network Places icon on desktop

User Config\Administrative Templates\Start Menu and Taskbar\Remove My Network Places icon from Start Menu


0
rmckolayAuthor Commented:
Ok thanks.  Do you know how to remove the link from "my computer" and keep people from browsing via ip or at least secure it with a username password?
0
Jay_Jay70Commented:
the GP settings i sent wont lock the down the ability to browse via IP - you will still be able to see default printers etc if your  start - run - \\compname

if you enforce those settings, it wont remove the link but will deny access
0

Experts Exchange Solution brought to you by

Your issues matter to us.

Facing a tech roadblock? Get the help and guidance you need from experienced professionals who care. Ask your question anytime, anywhere, with no hassle.

Start your 7-day free trial
slyskawaCommented:
If you don't have a need for people to access these computers, uninstall "file and print services" from the network control panel for the lan card.  They will still be able to access any shares and will be able to see computers on the network but you will not be able to connect to any of them.

Make sure you are not sharing any directories or printers from the client machines before you do this because you will lose your ability to share things once you remove the service
0
It's more than this solution.Get answers and train to solve all your tech problems - anytime, anywhere.Try it for free Edge Out The Competitionfor your dream job with proven skills and certifications.Get started today Stand Outas the employee with proven skills.Start learning today for free Move Your Career Forwardwith certification training in the latest technologies.Start your trial today
Networking

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.

Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.