Solved

Can Veritas logs be automatically deleted?

Posted on 2006-07-12
2
618 Views
Last Modified: 2013-12-01
In Veritas Backup Exec 9.0, a ser ran into a problem where the old job logs filled up their C drive and we had to go back and delete them from the last 3 years.  Is there a way to set these to automatically delete themselves after a month or 6 months so it does not have to be done manually?  On this server they are saved under C:\program files\Veritas\BE\NT\Catalogs.

Thanks
0
Comment
Question by:sim2k_support
2 Comments
 
LVL 10

Accepted Solution

by:
kgreeneit earned 250 total points
ID: 17092737
Hi there - yes the veritas logs can be automatically deleted after a set time. If you go to the tools menu at the top of the Veritas window, then click on 'options', from here, select database maintenance from the menu's on the left hand side of the screen. You can now select a set time for the database maintenance program to run and this will automatically delete any old logs and settings.

Hope this helps!
0
 
LVL 8

Expert Comment

by:hiteshgupta1
ID: 17097645
0

Featured Post

Better Security Awareness With Threat Intelligence

See how one of the leading financial services organizations uses Recorded Future as part of a holistic threat intelligence program to promote security awareness and proactively and efficiently identify threats.

Join & Write a Comment

How to update Firmware and Bios in Dell Equalogic PS6000 Arrays and Hard Disks firmware update.
Workplace bullying has increased with the use of email and social media. Retain evidence of this with email archiving to protect your employees.
This video teaches viewers how to encrypt an external drive that requires a password to read and edit the drive. All tasks are done in Disk Utility. Plug in the external drive you wish to encrypt: Make sure all previous data on the drive has been …
This Micro Tutorial will teach you how to reformat your flash drive. Sometimes your flash drive may have issues carrying files so this will completely restore it to manufacturing settings. Make sure to backup all files before reformatting. This w…

705 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question

Need Help in Real-Time?

Connect with top rated Experts

16 Experts available now in Live!

Get 1:1 Help Now