Thread Class - newbie question

Hi,

I am very new to c++ threading. I wish to create a thread class that i can inherit from that can interact with the process that initailly called it. I need to be able to create the thread and send information to it so it can do something and then respond to the process that created it.

Can anyone help?
cossy74Asked:
Who is Participating?
I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

cossy74Author Commented:
OK here is what i have so far:

//--- HEADER FILE--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#ifndef __THREAD_H__
#define __THREAD_H__

class Thread
{
public:
    virtual ~Thread() {}
    void run();
    unsigned long pid() const { return m_pid; }
    int IsRunning() const{ return running; }

protected:
    Thread();
    virtual void code() = 0;
    int running;

private:

unsigned long m_pid;

static void dispatch(void* thread_obj);
};

#endif

//--- CODE FILE -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

#include "stdafx.h"
#include "Thread.h"

#include <windows.h>
#include <process.h>

Thread::Thread()
    : running(0)
    , m_pid(0L)
{
}

void Thread::run()
{
    // Don't start two threads on the same object
    if (running) return;

// Create an OS thread, using the static callback
    m_pid = _beginthread(Thread::dispatch, 0, this);
    running = 1;
}

void Thread::dispatch(void* thread_obj)
{
    // Call the actual OO thread code
    ((Thread*)thread_obj)->code();

// After code() returns, kill the thread object