dhcp exclusion 2000 server

I have 2 ips that have been excluded from the address pool. I would like to put them back in the pool as they no longer need exclusion. What is the proper way to do it? Would this also work with reservations?

Thanks, dmcalert
dmcalertAsked:
Who is Participating?

Improve company productivity with a Business Account.Sign Up

x
 
plimpiasConnect With a Mentor Commented:
Go to admistrative tools
Go to DHCP
Expand Scope
Look for exclusion range. (with the red x)
You need to  delete it and recreate the new exclusions by right clicking and hitting new exclusion.
0
 
plimpiasCommented:
Under scope you will find address pool, i didnt mention that. also address pool is what you need to right click in order to recreate the exclusion range.
0
 
dmcalertAuthor Commented:
Does the excluded ip return to the assignable pool when deleted from exclusion or reservation?
0
Free Tool: SSL Checker

Scans your site and returns information about your SSL implementation and certificate. Helpful for debugging and validating your SSL configuration.

One of a set of tools we are providing to everyone as a way of saying thank you for being a part of the community.

 
plimpiasCommented:
Yes, if and when the following

If your pool is 192.168.10.1-254

And you excluded 192.168.10.1-10

Then you delete the exlclusion and recreate it with 192.168.10.1-7

then 8,9,&10 will be put back into the pool
0
 
plimpiasCommented:
Actually yes it does, when you delete it, it gets put back into the pool.

I got confused for a sec on what you were asking.
0
 
dmcalertAuthor Commented:
Thanks much. Can You also tell me what refresh does and when/why to use it?
0
 
plimpiasCommented:
just incase someone is managing the same DHCP server, refresh refreshes the changes that were made.
0
 
dmcalertAuthor Commented:
so should I refresh after making my changes or as I read your comment, this is for someone who makes changes after me?
0
 
plimpiasCommented:
no its not needed.

Lets say two people are logged in at the same time, 1 person makes a change, the other person won't see it unless they either refresh or close and reopen DHCP.

So just imagine 13 people managing one dhcp server, you would want to refresh to see the changes.

Or if you are looking at your leases, at you boot up 100 pcs. you refresh the screen to see them comming in.

Its just like refreshing any other application, like internet explorer. it has nothing to do with saving changes.
0
 
dmcalertAuthor Commented:
Thanks plimpias, You have been a great help.

dmcalert
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.