Want to protect your cyber security and still get fast solutions? Ask a secure question today.Go Premium

x
  • Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 690
  • Last Modified:

Get Read-Only or Notify Message whenever spreadsheet is reopened within Excel 2003

Hi Everyone:

       I noticed each time I save and close the spreadsheet within Excel 2003, I get the following message: Inventory.xls is locked for editing by George Martin.  Open 'Read-Only or Click Notify to open read only and receive notification when the document is no longer in use.  There are three options on the side labeled Read Only, Notify, and Cancel respectively.  I have been selecting Notify because this worksheet is an ongoing process.  However, I am unclear on what this message really means and also which option should be selected.  Hopefully, I selected the right one.

       Any shared thoughts regarding this question will be appreciated.

       Thank you.

       George
0
GMartin
Asked:
GMartin
  • 3
  • 2
2 Solutions
 
DabasCommented:
Hi George,
This message appears when your Excel workbook is already open. If you are the only user, then probably the best course of action is to choose Cancel and look at your task bar on the bottom of your screen (to the right of the Start button), to select your open workbook

The message is useful in a shared environment. Excel is trying to avoid you and an other user making different changes to the same workbook at the same time


Dabas
0
 
DabasCommented:
... continued

Read Only means: "I want to open this workbook to have a look at it, but will not make any changes, or if I do, I will rename the sheet"
Notify means: "Please let me know when the other user has closed his copy of the workbook, so that I can save my changes"
Cancel means: "Forget it, I will open it later"

Dabas
0
 
GMartinAuthor Commented:
Hi

       Thanks so much for the followup.  Since I am the only person working on this spreadsheet and I want to make this project just one file name, which option should I select without loosing my previous work?

       George
0
 
DabasCommented:
George:
I just reread your original post, and need to clarify exactly what is happening, since you mention this happens when you save and close.

Do I understand correctly that you are proceeding like this

Start Windows, with nothing running
Open Excel
Open Inventory.xls
Make changes
Save Inventory.xls <--- Message appears?

Or is the sequence different?

Dabas
0
 
GMartinAuthor Commented:
Hi There:

         Thank you so much for clarifying what I occasionally see.  Knowing exactly what this message means now is certainly reassuring when opening and closing Excel 2003.

         As you notice, I spit up the points because I found both of your answers germane to this post.

         Thanks again for your help.

         George
0

Featured Post

What does it mean to be "Always On"?

Is your cloud always on? With an Always On cloud you won't have to worry about downtime for maintenance or software application code updates, ensuring that your bottom line isn't affected.

  • 3
  • 2
Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now