Improve company productivity with a Business Account.Sign Up

x
  • Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 1521
  • Last Modified:

Need to add a "drain stop" to a specific Citrix server in a farm

Hi.

We have 12 citrix servers. Occassionaly, we would like to take one out of service. We do not want to just kick everyone off. Instead, we'd like to have that particular server no accept any more farm connections. We would then wait on the current users to finish their work and log off at their choosing. This would essentially "drain" the server and allow us to do maintenance without the users ever knowing. How can we do this? We are running
0
jbrumbel
Asked:
jbrumbel
1 Solution
 
Scott AndersonPrincipal Support EngineerCommented:
On the server you want to "drain" you can disable the ICA-TCP connector.  As long as you aren't using Network Load Balancing, clients should be fine.  If you are using NLB, as the clients "bleed off" your "usage" metric goes down and clients will be routed to the server that's being drained because it is more available than the others... just something to consider.  If you are using NLB, you can customize the metric for it and have it state a "full" status.

Disable connectors:
1.  Click  Start:AllPrograms:Citrix:Administrative Tools:Citrix Connection Config. Tool
2.  Right-click the appropriate connection  (ICA-TCP).
3.  Select Disable to disable the connection or select Enable to re-enable the connection.
4.  Click Yes to confirm the change.
0
 
chrisnewman01Commented:
If you disable the ICA-TCP connector, you bump everyone off.  You can do it two ways that will disable future logins, but allow users to gracefully logoff:

a)  Go to the command prompt and type:  change logon /disable.  When you're finished and want to bring the server back online, it's change logon /enable
or
b)  In the CMC, right-click the server you want to disable logons to and select properties, select Metaframe Settings, then uncheck "Enable logons to this server".

Which version are you using?  If pre-PS4 (or PS3), if you uncheck the "enable logons to this server" option, the server will not accept connections until you check it again.  If XP, the server accepts connections upon reboot.

Chris
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

Join & Write a Comment

Featured Post

The 14th Annual Expert Award Winners

The results are in! Meet the top members of our 2017 Expert Awards. Congratulations to all who qualified!

Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now