I am working with a new network for which there is no documentation.
The other day, I disabled several accounts for users that are no longer needed but was surprised to find that the new user replacing that position could no longer access any of the files in THEIR file share as they were locked out of the network for access to their files. Reenabling the "old" user restored network connectivity.
Looked only a little into this but security settings seemed all OK. Did easily find that some of the files were owned by the previous user but even the root share could not be accessed and permissions, ownership seemed fine at that level.
Two questions then...
1) How can disabling a user that is no longer needed affect another who seems to be setup properly for groups, rights, permissions?
2) How can I KNOW which accounts I can cleanup, disable and/or reset passwords on without causing users access difficulties?