closing a network session

jskfan
jskfan used Ask the Experts™
on
in computer management, if I close a session for a user, what would happen?
would the mapped drive get disconnected?

thanks
Comment
Watch Question

Do more with

Expert Office
EXPERT OFFICE® is a registered trademark of EXPERTS EXCHANGE®
Top Expert 2014

Commented:
What kind of session?  There are many types of sessions.  

As you asked if the mapped drive would get disconnected I am assuming you mean terminate some type of SAMBA/fileshare session.  However you don't say which end.

If you log a user off of their computer the map is disconnected.  However if they have the share setup as "reconnect at logon", then as soon as they logon it will reconnect.

If you terminate their session on the server that the share is mapped to, the share will get disconnected also.  However, as soon as they attempt to access the share it will be reconnected.  Assuming their userid and password is still valid.



It was just disconnect them it would not undo their mappings, as soon as they tries to access that share again via the mapping they would get reconnected.

Author

Commented:
usacadena:

I guess you are understanding my point.

if a user is logged on to his computer with drive mapped to V: , W:, Z:

V: , W:, Z: map to    server1\share1  server1\share2    server1\share3

and if I connect to server1/computer management and close all sessions.

if a user has a document from server1 opened, what would happen to that document when I close the sessions??
would V: , W:, Z:  still be mapped to the user????

thanks


Ensure you’re charging the right price for your IT

Do you wonder if your IT business is truly profitable or if you should raise your prices? Learn how to calculate your overhead burden using our free interactive tool and use it to determine the right price for your IT services. Start calculating Now!

Nothing, the user would still have it open and as soon as they edit or refresh they will be reconnected.

Author

Commented:
<<<<Nothing, the user would still have it open and as soon as they edit or refresh they will be reconnected.>>>>

How would this impact their open documents which physically are on server1 from which I closed their sessions
Top Expert 2014

Commented:
"disconnected" does not mean "unmapped."

As soon as they went to save the document the session would be re-established and the documented would be saved.

Assuming, the server is still up, network connectivity is still there, and their userid/password is still valid.
             

Author

Commented:
So what does "Close session "  mean if users still can use their opened documents and save their work????
Top Expert 2014
Commented:
When you have a "session" open for file sharing there is an active TCP connection.  When you close the session it terminates this active TCP connection.  

On the client side the share will show as "disconnected"

However, since the session is initiated from the client, when the client goes to do something against that share it will see that the current status of the session is "disconnected" and it will automatically re-connect.

The only time when the auto-reconnect would not work is if you are licensed for so many clients on the server and and a new connection to that server will cause it to exceed the license count.

Example:  Say you are using Windows XP as a file server.  XP only allows up to 10 concurrent clients (10 unique IP addresses) connecting to it as a server.  Say you have 15 computers in your office, but normally only 10 are in use at a time.  One day all 15 are in use.  Well only the 1st 10 (say USER01 - USER10) will get their shares mapped.  You could go to the XP box, "close" the session of USER05.  This allows USER11 to map a share.  When USER05 attempts to reconnect, they will be denied because the XP box has 10 unique sessions.

Author

Commented:
giltjr:

thanks for your explanation.

but when I try to close a session , it gives me a message that users may loose data.
Top Expert 2014
Commented:
Yes they may.  You are still causing a disruption.  If they are in the middle of reading or writing it is possible that data corruption could occur and the user could loose data.

Do more with

Expert Office
Submit tech questions to Ask the Experts™ at any time to receive solutions, advice, and new ideas from leading industry professionals.

Start 7-Day Free Trial