• Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 219
  • Last Modified:

What do different syslog levels stand for?

I have a PIX506E and I'd like to log fw configuration changes (who logged on with which account, changed what on the PIX, who tried to log on but was unsuccessful etc.) and vpn user logons via syslog. Which trap level should I configure for this? Informational? Alert? Warning? Debug? Thanks!
1 Solution
True logging and accounting can happen only using aaa and not just syslog. Syslog helps a lot when it comes to system messages.

Look at the AAA part at cisco site, with a radius server you can do authentication, authorization and accounting.

The level of syslog:  Informational Alert Warning Debug
indicates the amount of system messages which would be logged. For eg, in debug level almost all transactions for a particular event would be logged, in warning the number would be less and so on.

So, it would least when set as  Informational and maximum when set to Debug.

Thank you.
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

Join & Write a Comment

Featured Post

Improve Your Query Performance Tuning

In this FREE six-day email course, you'll learn from Janis Griffin, Database Performance Evangelist. She'll teach 12 steps that you can use to optimize your queries as much as possible and see measurable results in your work. Get started today!

Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now