Want to protect your cyber security and still get fast solutions? Ask a secure question today.Go Premium


Outgoing mail being tagged as bulk on shared Exchange Server

Posted on 2007-09-28
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2013-11-30
I have a friend whose e-mails are being tagged as bulk everytime she sends out. She only sends out maybe 4 a day if she's lucky. I have eliminated any and all third party applications, I have tested with and without her outlook forms in use, and with an external laptop put on the network to prove it's not the computers...please don't ask me why.

Here is where I think the problem is, her domain is hosted by homes.com and her email is hosted through a 3rd party exchange server. If you do a reverse DNS lookup, nothing matches, so I'm assuming that is a red flag for not necessarily being blocked from being sent, but considered bulk since there is no message ID or domain key to say if it is a safe message or not therefore being tagged as bulk.

The group offering the exchange mail services insist that it is not their problem because her domain is "outside the exchange server" or "outside the spam filter". I thought you were supposed to be within the spam filter using an exchange server? I really don't know.

Anyway, doing a reverse DNS for the assumed exchange server ( using www.domaintools.com shows that there are other domains hosted with this server, not sure if they're for email as well.

The original domain is lane2houston.com and the ip address their outbound mail has is which is hosted mail with company using exchange.

I subitted the site to www.habeas.com and was lucky enough to have someone there basically tell me for for free that the problem had to do with the exchange server.

There are no mass email programs being used, the outbound mail is not spam, these are people that submitted their email addresses looking for information but when trying to get those emails out, they get bulk foldered.

below is example of some header info with the email addresses removed:

MIME-Version: 1.0
Received: from nt3.clear-lake.net ([]) by bay0-mc10-f12.bay0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.2668); Thu, 20 Sep 2007 08:50:25 -0700
X-Message-Info: JGTYoYF78jEHjJx36Oi8+Z3TmmkSEdPt3Mi6GgUSv7yYKHQgGfDe+2wCW4LegkYQqypIHu4uP4o=
Content-Class: urn:content-classes:message
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft Exchange V6.0.6619.12
Thread-Topic: FW:
thread-index: Acf7nhhiJFa6T8nhTn65S3P1ryvN2wAABhVQ
References: <BLU108-F2951B854952F9E7E3BF79A85BA0@phx.gbl>
Return-Path: office@lane2houston.com
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 20 Sep 2007 15:50:25.0397 (UTC) FILETIME=[F5B38A50:01C7FB9D]

X-Apparently-To: ---------@yahoo.com via; Thu, 13 Sep 2007 13:05:51 -0700
X-Originating-IP: []
Return-Path: <------@lane2houston.com>
Authentication-Results: mta243.mail.mud.yahoo.com from=lane2houston.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
Received: from (EHLO nt3.clear-lake.net) ( by mta243.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; Thu, 13 Sep 2007 13:05:51 -0700
Content-Class: urn:content-classes:message
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/related; type="multipart/alternative"; boundary="----_=_NextPart_001_01C7F641.BE4D0818"
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft Exchange V6.0.6619.12
Subject: testtt1
Date: Thu, 13 Sep 2007 15:07:42 -0500
Message-ID: <ADA3B0C2FE57114681A43345896D4EC618D7A9@nt3.clear-lake.net>
X-MS-Has-Attach: yes
Thread-Topic: testtt1
thread-index: Acf2QYCG28TUIieYSWuxXW43Th2aMQ==
From: "Lane-Office" <------@lane2houston.com>  Add to Address Book  Add Mobile Alert  
To: -------@hotmail.com, -------@yahoo.com
Content-Length: 38271

The 3rd party continually insists it is not their problem (their exchange hosting services).  Everything I know points to that, I just don't know enough about exchange to explain why....that is if I'm right.


THank you,
Question by:Mobiltech
  • 3
  • 2

Accepted Solution

avilov earned 2000 total points
ID: 19982628
the problem that email is  coming from  server that belongs to clear-lake.net, but the email's FROM and Return-Path headers claims that it's from  lane2huston.com. that is sign of open relay or a spam email.

to fix that you can ask to add mail.lane2huston.com to a reverse resolution for

also if your friend owns that domain and can add some records, she might spent some time reading about SPF, DomainKeys and sender ID and then implementing at least SPF and possibly senderiD

Author Comment

ID: 19984212
Is the owner of the domain responsible for SPF,DomainKeys and SendID or is the mail provider supposed to do that?

Expert Comment

ID: 19985294
owner of the domain is responsible for SPF and/or senderID configuration. DoaminKey requires interaction with the MTA operator
Making Bulk Changes to Active Directory

Watch this video to see how easy it is to make mass changes to Active Directory from an external text file without using complicated scripts.


Author Comment

ID: 20010447
the owner of the site decided to change the hosting company a couple of days ago without giving me a heads up. I will return to post the results of doing so.
thank you.

Author Comment

ID: 20261350
It appeared to be that the domain hosting company homes.com was the problem. FYI for all. Apparently homes.com has given many realtor websites problems when 3rd party mail hosting comes into play.

By them changing the hosting company, all efforts to resolve the issue just to know how and why the problem existed went down the toilet

Please award the points to avilov for the effort and response.

THank you.

Expert Comment

ID: 20286889
Forced accept.

EE Admin

Featured Post

Problems using Powershell and Active Directory?

Managing Active Directory does not always have to be complicated.  If you are spending more time trying instead of doing, then it's time to look at something else. For nearly 20 years, AD admins around the world have used one tool for day-to-day AD management: Hyena. Discover why

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

In this post, I will showcase the steps for how to create groups in Office 365. Office 365 groups allow for ease of flexibility and collaboration between staff members.
Exchange database can often fail to mount thereby halting the work of all users connected to it. Finding out why database isn’t mounting is crucial and getting the server back online. Stellar Phoenix Mailbox Exchange Recovery is a champion product t…
The video tutorial explains the basics of the Exchange server Database Availability groups. The components of this video include: 1. Automatic Failover 2. Failover Clustering 3. Active Manager
Nobody understands Phishing better than an anti-spam company. That’s why we are providing Phishing Awareness Training to our customers. According to a report by Verizon, only 3% of targeted users report malicious emails to management. With compan…
Suggested Courses

578 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question