We help IT Professionals succeed at work.

What are the read only files generated in Dreamweaver that are named with arbitrary numbers and how can I keep them from being generated.

668 Views
Last Modified: 2013-11-24
I use Dreamweaver CS2 on a Mac platform and work with other users who work on PCs. We have checkin/checkout activated for our web site. The problem is that my Mac is generating some annoying 'read only' duplicate files whenever I edit files in Dreamweaver. The problem is annoying enough that these files are created, but when I try to delete them I'm not allowed to unless I log in to a PC. I get a 'you do not have enough permission to delete this file' error when trying to delete these files from outside the dreamweaver application, and when inside the dreamweaver application the files disappear momentarily and then reappear even when I delete and use empty secure trash.

The local site  files are on our Microsoft Exchange server. I don't have any trouble deleting any other files outside the Dreamweaver application or the Website folders OR any files other than these read-only duplicate files. AND I can delete these same files when I'm logged into a PC so I assume my permissions on the server/folder are set correctly. Also, these duplicate files are only created in the local site list, not the remote list.

My question is 3-fold.

Is there a setting I'm missing in Dreamweaver or on my MAC OS 10.4 that can prevent these read-only file duplicates from being created in the first place?

Is there a possible mac-user setting on the Microsoft Exchange server where the local web files reside that might not be properly set up?

Is there something about using checkin/checkout in dreamweaver and mixing mac and pc usage that is causing the problem? (I don't have this problem on sites I manage by myself)
Comment
Watch Question

Consultant
CERTIFIED EXPERT
Commented:
Unlock this solution and get a sample of our free trial.
(No credit card required)
UNLOCK SOLUTION

Author

Commented:
I thought the solution above would fix the problem but the files are still being created even though I've unchecked Preview using Temporary file. They do not disappear when quitting dreamweaver and can only be deleted from a PC interface. I'm wondering if there is some kind of preference file that needs to be purged for the changes in the site setup to actually be recognized. Can't see these files as easily with Mac OS 10+.

Gain unlimited access to on-demand training courses with an Experts Exchange subscription.

Get Access
Why Experts Exchange?

Experts Exchange always has the answer, or at the least points me in the correct direction! It is like having another employee that is extremely experienced.

Jim Murphy
Programmer at Smart IT Solutions

When asked, what has been your best career decision?

Deciding to stick with EE.

Mohamed Asif
Technical Department Head

Being involved with EE helped me to grow personally and professionally.

Carl Webster
CTP, Sr Infrastructure Consultant
Empower Your Career
Did You Know?

We've partnered with two important charities to provide clean water and computer science education to those who need it most. READ MORE

Ask ANY Question

Connect with Certified Experts to gain insight and support on specific technology challenges including:

  • Troubleshooting
  • Research
  • Professional Opinions
Unlock the solution to this question.
Thanks for using Experts Exchange.

Please provide your email to receive a sample view!

*This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

OR

Please enter a first name

Please enter a last name

8+ characters (letters, numbers, and a symbol)

By clicking, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.