Solved

Moving a roaming profile

Posted on 2007-11-26
4
2,857 Views
Last Modified: 2008-02-01
I have a few users who have moved to different offices and their roaming profiles are still stored on servers on a remote site, thus every time they login all their profile info have to come down the leased line.

if I wish to "copy" their roaming profile to the server at the office they are now working in, can I simply change the profile path in AD while they are logged on and when they logoff it will create that file and save all their settings to it, thus removing the need to physically copy the folder over from one server to another?

thanks in advance
0
Comment
Question by:MTSDL
[X]
Welcome to Experts Exchange

Add your voice to the tech community where 5M+ people just like you are talking about what matters.

  • Help others & share knowledge
  • Earn cash & points
  • Learn & ask questions
  • 2
  • 2
4 Comments
 
LVL 9

Accepted Solution

by:
dreamyguy earned 125 total points
ID: 20349604
Yes, all you need to do is to assign the proper permissions to the new shared folder where the profiles will be stored and modify the user's accounts to point their profiles to the new share. It's advisable to do this when the users aren't logged into their machines because when the user logs off then the profile is copied back to the original location on the domain and the new settings take effect only once the user logs off and logs back.

Test it out first for a couple of users and once that works fine, you can do it for all the other users.
0
 

Author Comment

by:MTSDL
ID: 20350125
But if they are logged off and i change the profile path, when they logback on all their settings will be lost?
0
 

Author Comment

by:MTSDL
ID: 20351174
When i say copy the profile i mean i want to move it from one location to another on a different server
0
 
LVL 9

Assisted Solution

by:dreamyguy
dreamyguy earned 125 total points
ID: 20351420
If they're logged off and if you then move the profile to a different share and map it to their accounts, then the changes will not be lost because when they login, their profiles will be pulled down from the new share. but if you do it while they're logged on, then when they log off and log back on, they'll get the same profile which you had copied to the new share without reflecting the changes they made in the last session.
0

Featured Post

Ready to trade in that old firewall?

Whether you need to trade-up to a shiny new Firebox or just ready to upgrade from whatever appliance you're using now, WatchGuard has the right appliance for you! Find your perfect Firebox today with appliance sizing tool!

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

As companies replace their old PBX phone systems with Unified IP Communications, many are finding out that legacy applications such as fax do not work well with VoIP. Fortunately, Cloud Faxing provides a cost-effective alternative that works over an…
Join Greg Farro and Ethan Banks from Packet Pushers (http://packetpushers.net/podcast/podcasts/pq-show-93-smart-network-monitoring-paessler-sponsored/) and Greg Ross from Paessler (https://www.paessler.com/prtg) for a discussion about smart network …
This video gives you a great overview about bandwidth monitoring with SNMP and WMI with our network monitoring solution PRTG Network Monitor (https://www.paessler.com/prtg). If you're looking for how to monitor bandwidth using netflow or packet s…
Monitoring a network: why having a policy is the best policy? Michael Kulchisky, MCSE, MCSA, MCP, VTSP, VSP, CCSP outlines the enormous benefits of having a policy-based approach when monitoring medium and large networks. Software utilized in this v…
Suggested Courses

623 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question