We help IT Professionals succeed at work.

How to turn off network synchronizing

Mach1pro
Mach1pro asked
on
a couple weeks ago I logged into one of my customer's networks with my XP laptop. Ever since then, when I go to shut down my computer a window pops up labeled "Synchronizing". It attempts to synchronize with my customers network, but of course I'm not conneted. How do I turn off this feature on my laptop?
Comment
Watch Question

Control Panel, Folder Options, Offline Files tab
Remove tick next to "Enable Offline Files"
Or change the "Synchronise all offline files ..." options

Commented:
You need to re-initialize the offline files cache.

In Folder Options, on the Offline Files tab, press CTRL+SHIFT, and then click Delete Files. The following message appears:
The Offline Files cache on the local computer will be re-initialized. Any changes that have not been synchronized with computers on the network will be lost. Any files or folders made available offline will no longer be available offline. A computer restart is required.

Do you wish to re-initialize the cache?
Click Yes two times to restart the computer.
Thank you - hope that was useful.

Explore More ContentExplore courses, solutions, and other research materials related to this topic.