When I delete a registry key, it allows without error by reappears when I re-open regedit?

Having issues with a particular 3rd party application - it's pull-down window allows you to log into a list of servers. However, only (1) server is actually available. The pull-down shows old server names as available to choose from. This confuses end-users and they commonly select wrong one and get errors (of course, because they are obviously attempting to connect to a non-existant server no longer available). The reality is there is only (1) server available.
In the past we would go here:
HK_Current_User>Software>InforGraphic Systems>Client>Server1 & Server2 (server1 being good and server2 being bad).
We then chose to delete the server2 key and it does. Without any errors. We then close & re-open Regedit and that same deleted key is still there.
The same deleted key is still available in the pull-down for that application as well.
We need to delete this and prevent errors by end-users and slow-down help calls related to this.
HELP!
mythology8Asked:
Who is Participating?
 
kosmoraiosCommented:
You can use Sysinternals (now bought by Microsoft) RegMon to see the registry activity in real time.
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/sysinternals/bb896652.aspx

You can then determine how the key is being written. You could also schedule a delete upon reboot.
0
 
mythology8Author Commented:
thanks!
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.