We help IT Professionals succeed at work.

How do I export network profile information in XML format in case of Windows XP Pro SP2?

979 Views
Last Modified: 2008-07-23
How do I export network profile information in XML format in case of Windows XP Pro SP2? In fact, I am deploying SP3 over LAN in 802.1x environment. After installation SP3 I can run "netsh lan export profile folder=c:\" but I want to export or add network profile in SP2 case. Is there any way?
Comment
Watch Question

Xp Sp2 have the version of netsh that export and import data in plaintext format and not in xml.

You should use the old syntax:

To export:
netsh -c interface dump > c:\netconfig.txt

To import:
netsh -f c:\netconfig.txt

Author

Commented:
After installing SP3, if I use it instead of netsh lan, will it work?

Author

Commented:
I ran this command but it doesn't contain any authMode entry. I want to set authMode settings instead of registry editing.
As i can see around:

Import settings in Xp sp3 with a netsh config txt file made with Xp Sp2 (assuming that interface GID isn't different).

Netsh in xp sp2 doesn't support authMode. This feature seems to be present in Xp sp3, Vista and Win server 2008.
Commented:
This one is on us!
(Get your first solution completely free - no credit card required)
UNLOCK SOLUTION
You can also use a script (cmd or powershell) in a policy to execute all of these operations from the client.
1) the client download locally a copy of sp3 network
2) export config with netsh (version sp2)
3) upgrade to sp3 and restart
4) exec another script via runonce that add a new net config based on the parameters you need a that can support the auth.

Author

Commented:
Infact I dont know scripting. If sumbdy can implement this solution in a script. People need it indeed. What is runonce by the way?
A script is far different form an answer. This isn't a fast solution. Some work and time is needed to do this.
Btw the runonce is a way to run script or programs at the restart of windows that will be executed only once and then deleted. A lot of setup use this feature to complete the installation after restart of windows.
Unlock the solution to this question.
Join our community and discover your potential

Experts Exchange is the only place where you can interact directly with leading experts in the technology field. Become a member today and access the collective knowledge of thousands of technology experts.

*This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

OR

Please enter a first name

Please enter a last name

8+ characters (letters, numbers, and a symbol)

By clicking, you agree to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.