Synchronisation manager in XP pro, removing old folders

I had users my documents pointing to there home folders on 192.168.1.1 and selected to be made available offline

The address of the server has now changed to 10.0.0.1

I have redirected clients my documents to the new server address and selected to be made available offline.

The problem is the XP machines are still remembering the old server path to sync as well as the new one even though I have gone to syshronisation manager and unchecked the path for the old server.

How can I completely remove the reference to the old server location?
LVL 6
Sid_FAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
Sid_FAuthor Commented:
Hi,

Yes I did do exactly as you said and deleted the offline cache however this did not properly clear the cahe even though all files had been deleted even after reboot the problem still remained. It would appear there was corruption in the CSC. I found an article from Microsoft which resolved the problem by using a registry entry which allows you to re-initialize the offline cache.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/230738 
0
 
waynewilliamsCommented:
The best way to do this is to re-initialize the offline files cache.

To do this open up Windows Explorer then click on Tools>Folder Options and then go to the "Offline Files" tab.

Now hold down ctrl+shift while pressing "Delete Files".

A message will then appear asking you if you are sure. Click yes and then reboot and the offline files cache will now be reset.  You will then need to go to the network folder you need offline access to and make it available offline again.
0
 
Sid_FAuthor Commented:
Ok will give it a try,

Thanks
0
Cloud Class® Course: C++ 11 Fundamentals

This course will introduce you to C++ 11 and teach you about syntax fundamentals.

 
Sid_FAuthor Commented:
Ok I trust you mean go to "view files" in the offline files tab and select all and delete and then reboot?
0
 
waynewilliamsCommented:
No, while you are on the "Offline Files" tab you will see a button that says "Delete Files" at the bottom.   Simply hold down ctrl+shift while pressing the "Delete Files" button.
0
 
Sid_FAuthor Commented:
Ok, I have deleted all offline files as suggested and rebooted but it still tries to sync to the old server ip address, when i go to tools and scychronisation i can see the current correct server is checked but the old server is also still checked, when i uncheck it and click close and go straight back in its checked again! I just can't get rid of this old reference!
0
 
waynewilliamsCommented:
If it is still trying to sync with the old server then you mustnt have done exactly as I suggested.

It is VITAL that you hold down the left ctrl+shift keys WHILST pressing the "Delete Files" button.   You will know that you have done this correctly if you see a message that tells you that you are about to re-initialize the offline cache.  

Just deleting the files will not get rid of your problem.
0
 
waynewilliamsCommented:
I have attached a screenshot of the message you should see.
cache.JPG
0
 
Sid_FAuthor Commented:
Request to close
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.