Lotus Notes

Posted on 2008-10-23
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2016-04-19
clients sending message to our Lotus server is receiving the following message. New to lotus.
Your document:      Re: test email
was not delivered to:      AntonioDennis@QNET.COM.JM
because:      Error transferring to mail.QNET.COM.JM; SMTP Protocol Returned a Permanent Error 554 Mail from AStevens@cokcu.com rejected for policy reasons.
Question by:ashdennis
Welcome to Experts Exchange

Add your voice to the tech community where 5M+ people just like you are talking about what matters.

  • Help others & share knowledge
  • Earn cash & points
  • Learn & ask questions
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
LVL 46

Expert Comment

by:Sjef Bosman
ID: 22791175
And there are no problems while sending to other addresses? Most likely it's a problem at the receiving end, the sender's address or server may be blacklisted. You could send a mail to the helpdesk of Qnet.com.jm and ask them why your address is rejected.

Author Comment

ID: 22791490
they already sent a request to qnet.com.jm and there address is not rejected, they can send email to other services, like yahoo.com gmail.com etc.
On the lotus server there i am not seeing any settings that should prevent them from sending to us also qnet.com.jm can send message to cokcu.com.
R u saying cokcu.com is blacklisted, where can i check to see that.
What does it mean to be "Always On"?

Is your cloud always on? With an Always On cloud you won't have to worry about downtime for maintenance or software application code updates, ensuring that your bottom line isn't affected.


Expert Comment

ID: 22805248

how do you sent your emails? it is done via some agent? or LEI activity? it is sent under server account or some other "user"?

second thing to check, is your own SMTP server (exchange). AFAIK lotus doesnt sent emails directly, but via exchange (or other) server. So email go out of your lotus, but exchange cannot deliver it.

more info on IBM forums - http://www-10.lotus.com/ldd/46dom.nsf/DateAllThreadedWeb/891ae8edebf61ad385256ae2002e568b?OpenDocument

download and use SmtpDiag Tool from microsoft (usage smtpdiag.exe blabla@yourdomain.xx tested@domain.xx /v) http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=bc1881c7-925d-4a29-bd42-71e8563c80a9&displaylang=en

you can check, if your domain/ip was not blacklisted e.g. here -

http://spamlinks.net/filter-bl.htm#ip (many more features and for more countries)
http://www.sdsc.edu/~jeff/spam/Blacklists_Compared.html (loong list)]

Expert Comment

ID: 22805323
one more thing, dont you use some antispam software? like symantec premium anti-spam... if yes, try to reinstall it, or check the configuration.
LVL 46

Expert Comment

by:Sjef Bosman
ID: 22806868
I think I "assumed" once again... sorry.

What I assumed is that AntonioDennis@QNET.COM.JM is an external address and that AStevens@cokcu.com was sending from an external address to an external address. After re-reading your question ( and seeing the posts by gratex) this seems unlikely. I now have the following question: is AntonioDennis@QNET.COM.JM an external address, or is your Domino server listening to the domain QNET.COM.JM ?

Because, if someone from external is sending mail via your server to an external address, he's using your server as a mail relay. Mail relays are usually blocked by mail providers and, generally speaking, all mail server admins do whatever they can to prevent mail relaying. If your server is an open relay (as they say) it is bound to get swamped by all spammers in the whole wide world: they need open relays to spread their mails around.

To find out if you are an open relay, read this question:
http://www.experts-exchange.com/Software/Office_Productivity/Office_Suites/Lotus_SmartSuite/Lotus_Notes/Q_21081783.html and check your server on www.abuse.net/relay.html

Author Comment

ID: 22810255
thanks. let me see if i can better explain the situation.
problem 1
AStevens@cokcu.com someone outside trying to send to AntonioDennis@QNET.COM.JM.

situation 1
AntonioDennis@QNET.COM.JM  can send to AStevens@cokcu.com without a problem.

situation 2
AntonioDennis@QNET.COM.JM  is behind lotus mail server and the server is not showing any errors that would be blocking AStevens@cokcu.com.

situation 3
AStevens@cokcu.com gets error message when sending message to AntonioDennis@QNET.COM.JM. also everyone @cokcu.com cannot send to qnet.com.jm

LVL 46

Accepted Solution

Sjef Bosman earned 200 total points
ID: 22810775
What's the Domino release your server is on? Depending on the release, you could have a blacklist that contains cokcu.com, and/or rules that deny cokcu.com, but it is a rejected domain somewhere.

In the Name&Address book of your server, open the Configuration document for the server receiving mail, continue to the Router/SMTP tab, then Restrictions and Controls..., and finally to SMTP Inbound Controls. Maybe messages from cokcu.com are denied there? Or there's a DNS Blacklist filter that contains that domain?

Personally, I have little faith in blacklists, I prefer a solid anti-spam product, like kSpam (see www.openntf.org)

Featured Post

Technology Partners: We Want Your Opinion!

We value your feedback.

Take our survey and automatically be enter to win anyone of the following:
Yeti Cooler, Amazon eGift Card, and Movie eGift Card!

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

This is an old article, please see an updated version of this article, located here: http://www.experts-exchange.com/articles/23619/Notes-8-5x-Windows-7-Notes-info-and-tips.html
I thought it will be a good idea to make a post as it will help in case someone else faces these issues. I trust this gives an idea how each entry in Notes.ini can mean a lot for the Domino Server to be functioning properly. This article discusses t…
NetCrunch network monitor is a highly extensive platform for network monitoring and alert generation. In this video you'll see a live demo of NetCrunch with most notable features explained in a walk-through manner. You'll also get to know the philos…
Do you want to know how to make a graph with Microsoft Access? First, create a query with the data for the chart. Then make a blank form and add a chart control. This video also shows how to change what data is displayed on the graph as well as form…

765 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question