[Okta Webinar] Learn how to a build a cloud-first strategyRegister Now


Exchange Server Error - You do not have permission to send to this recipient

Posted on 2009-02-23
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2012-05-06

I have recently moved offices and now have a Telstra Business ADSL2 internet connection.
Now when I send emails through my Exchange 2003 server some recipients get the below error:
This is only about 1 in 30 emails that fail. But it's a problem. Any help appreciated????
The domain in question is www.prettypollution.com.au


Your message did not reach some or all of the intended recipients.

      Subject:      RE: Website Order Form
      Sent:      24/02/2009 2:25 PM

The following recipient(s) cannot be reached:

      John Smith on 24/02/2009 2:26 PM
            You do not have permission to send to this recipient.  For assistance, contact your system administrator.
            <SERVER.prettypollution.local #5.7.1 smtp;554 5.7.1 Rejected is a dynamic IP (see:      http://www.au.sorbs.net/faq/dul.shtml      for more information)>

Question by:datacomsmt
LVL 14

Accepted Solution

Kaffiend earned 1500 total points
ID: 23718349
You need to contact these guys (go to http://www.au.sorbs.net/faq/dul.shtml ) and plead your case.  

The problem is that your new public IP address is in what is considered to be a questionable "neighborhood".

Also make sure that you have a reverse DNS record for your mail server.
LVL 17

Expert Comment

ID: 23718350
You are blacklisted by SORBS...
are you having a dynamic ip ??
check if you are open for relay ??
do this...
on command prompt:--

telnet maila.microsoft.com 25

now just near the ehlo.. what Ip do you get? that will be your connecting ip.
go to www.mxtoolbox.com--> click on black list and put that ip there... check if you are showing black listed...

One more Question.... when do you get this NDR... ? to which domain are you trying to send email?

let me know the results.. I guess we almost got the resolution .......

LVL 15

Expert Comment

ID: 23721096
check the SORBS database to see if you are blacklisted - if so, get it unlisted

Contact your provider to determine if your IP is actually dynamic - if it is, spend the extra cash and get a static IP

Make sure your reverse dns and mx records are correct

you should be fine after that

Simplify Active Directory Administration

Administration of Active Directory does not have to be hard.  Too often what should be a simple task is made more difficult than it needs to be.The solution?  Hyena from SystemTools Software.  With ease-of-use as well as powerful importing and bulk updating capabilities.

LVL 65

Expert Comment

ID: 23726879
Contacting SORBS is going to be a waste of time. The DUL (dial up list, aka Dynamic) is a list provided by ISPs. They will not remove you from the list.

You have two options only.

1. Ask the ISP to provide a static IP address. If they have, then ask them to provide one that is not in the dynamic IP range that they have provided to the blacklist providers.

2. Set the server to use a smart host and route email via your ISPs SMTP Server using an SMTP Connector. http://www.amset.info/exchange/smtp-connector.asp

LVL 14

Expert Comment

ID: 23730600
All is not lost.  There is hope that you can be excluded from this list.

If you click on the link they provided you will see a webpage.  There is a section on that page that will help you.  I've pasted it here for you:


Additions/Submissions to the DUHL Exclusion List
We also operate a self-help exclusion interface that allows the owner of a system to quickly exclude a single IP address (or, in some cases, multiple IP addresses) from the DUHL. For this to be possible, the following criteria need to be met:

    * The MX record of a domain needs to contain a host name that maps to the IP address involved. The Time to Live of the MX record needs to be at least 43200 seconds.
    * The A record for the host name needs to have a TTL of at least 43200 seconds.
    * The reverse DNS PTR record for the IP address involved needs to map back to the name given in the MX record, and to have a TTL of at least 43200 seconds.
    * If there are multiple MX entries, these rules apply to them all.

When all these conditions are met, please go to https://www.dnsbl.au.sorbs.net/scgi-bin/dulexclusions to request quick exclusion for your mail server.


LVL 17

Expert Comment

ID: 23732281
Same thing what i said.. you are blacklisted by SORBS...
you need to contact them to get whitelisted or
y0u need to change your conecting ip to static.. and thats done by isp...
PTR doesnt come in to picture here in this senario..  But . its a necessary thing.. coz that can cause issues later because there are domains which req PTR or else thy wont accept your connection ...

Author Comment

ID: 23763198
Thanks everyone for the great info.
I have a static IP address issued from our ISP (telstra).
I have a reverse DNS record configured now, to email.prettypollution.com.au (this is the A Record that the MX record points to).
I've requested delisting with SORBS

Pending a reply. Will update when I find out. If I can't get unlisted I'll discuss with the ISP to get a new static IP address

LVL 17

Expert Comment

ID: 23764474
No peoblem buddy... Glad to know my suggestion helped !
i am sure your issue wil be fixd


Featured Post


Modern healthcare requires a modern cloud. View this brief video to understand how the Concerto Cloud for Healthcare can help your organization.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

The main intent of this article is to make you aware of ‘Exchange fail to mount’ error, its effects, causes, and solution.
Steps to fix “Unable to mount database. (hr=0x80004005, ec=1108)”.
To add imagery to an HTML email signature, you have two options available to you. You can either add a logo/image by embedding it directly into the signature or hosting it externally and linking to it. The vast majority of email clients display l…
This video shows how to quickly and easily add an email signature for all users on Exchange 2016. The resulting signature is applied on a server level by Exchange Online. The email signature template has been downloaded from: www.mail-signatures…
Suggested Courses

834 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question