Solved

How do I set NTFS permissions to allow everything but delete?

Posted on 2009-03-30
5
362 Views
Last Modified: 2012-05-06
Hi,

I have been trying to setup a shared folder (mapped network drive) on a Windows 2003 Server so that it's subfolders and files are unable to be deleted but are able to be renamed, moved etc. I have been unable to do it by what would seem to be logical (remove delete permissions under advanced security settings). Does anyone know how this can be done?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jason
0
Comment
Question by:jayman7
  • 3
5 Comments
 
LVL 8

Expert Comment

by:Share-IT
ID: 24024342
when you right click click and goto properties, click security then the advanced tab. Select the group or user you want to modify the rights for then click edit. You should then be able to remove the "delete" rights.
I'm doing this from memory so might not be exact but it's easy enough to follow once you know where to look.
0
 

Author Comment

by:jayman7
ID: 24024398
Hi, yes that's exactly what I have done, but they are then not able to move or rename folders and files either.
0
 
LVL 8

Accepted Solution

by:
Share-IT earned 500 total points
ID: 24024427
because a move is considered a delete. As is a rename.
It copies the file first then deletes the original. it doesn't actually "move" the data. Nothing can be done about that i'm affraid.
0
 
LVL 5

Expert Comment

by:mrmarkfury
ID: 24024429
This is assuming you are under the advanced tab in security for the shared folder:

Add a user to the Permission entries, select the user, then click edit:

In "Apply Onto" select sub-folders and files
check all boxes except for fullcontrol, delete, change permissions, and take ownership

The idea is to give them all modify rights except the rights to delete or change the rights (duh). And you only apply it to the folders beneath the shared folder, since you dont want to edit each new folders permissions that are created underneath your main home share.

If you have any questions, let me know

0
 
LVL 8

Expert Comment

by:Share-IT
ID: 24024438
i should add - when you do a move with these permissions, you may well find the the "copy" goes to the new location but then the "delete" of the original fails so you end up with 2 copies.
 
0

Featured Post

PRTG Network Monitor: Intuitive Network Monitoring

Network Monitoring is essential to ensure that computer systems and network devices are running. Use PRTG to monitor LANs, servers, websites, applications and devices, bandwidth, virtual environments, remote systems, IoT, and many more. PRTG is easy to set up & use.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

On July 14th 2015, Windows Server 2003 will become End of Support, leaving hundreds of thousands of servers around the world that still run this 12 year old operating system vulnerable and potentially out of compliance in many organisations around t…
Restoring deleted objects in Active Directory has been a standard feature in Active Directory for many years, yet some admins may not know what is available.
This tutorial will walk an individual through the steps necessary to enable the VMware\Hyper-V licensed feature of Backup Exec 2012. In addition, how to add a VMware server and configure a backup job. The first step is to acquire the necessary licen…
This tutorial will walk an individual through configuring a drive on a Windows Server 2008 to perform shadow copies in order to quickly recover deleted files and folders. Click on Start and then select Computer to view the available drives on the se…

830 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question