Go Premium for a chance to win a PS4. Enter to Win

x
?
Solved

Vista-Warn if users are connected when shutting down

Posted on 2009-04-03
3
Medium Priority
?
431 Views
Last Modified: 2012-05-06
In XP, when I shutdown a computer while someone is connected to a shared folder, it will warn me that users are connected and ask if I really want to shutdown.  I have shared some folders on a Vista Home system.  However, when I shutdown on that system it does not warn if users are connected.  I have looked around and can't find a way to set that warning.  Can this be done and if so, how?
0
Comment
Question by:ltlbearand3
  • 2
3 Comments
 
LVL 57

Accepted Solution

by:
McKnife earned 2000 total points
ID: 24082654
Hi!
I have never seen such a warning when it comes to shares that are in use. Not on xp, nor anywhere else - windows issues warnings if user are logged on in different sessions (that may be terminal sessions or simply fast user switching), but it does not care if shares are in use. Please test it on xp and you will see.
What you can do is have a look at the command net file.
--
NET FILE closes a shared file and removes file locks. When used without
options, it lists the open files on a server
. The listing includes the
identification number assigned to an open file, the pathname of the file,
the username, and the number of locks on the file.
0
 
LVL 20

Author Comment

by:ltlbearand3
ID: 24086807
McKnife,

Thanks for the response.  I remember getting warnings on previous version of Windows when shutting done - something like "Other users are connected, shutting down will disconect these users."  and this was related to a shared folders (not just Term Services or Fast User Switching).  I thought it was XP, but may have been NT.  If you search the internet, you can find a few comments from people with a messages like this (though none show the exact text).  I don't have a NT box or a good XP setup to see if I can duplicate.  For now I will keep the question open and see if I can somehow find a solution.  If not I will come back in a few days and close out the questions.

The NET FILE command or using My Computer >> Manage >> Shared Folders both show who is connected.  However, if this is not checked before shutting down, the connected user could loose their data - that is why I am trying to figure out how to get the old message to display. Thanks.

-Bear
0
 
LVL 20

Author Closing Comment

by:ltlbearand3
ID: 31566224
Thanks for taking time to answer.
0

Featured Post

Important Lessons on Recovering from Petya

In their most recent webinar, Skyport Systems explores ways to isolate and protect critical databases to keep the core of your company safe from harm.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

The main issue when installing Vista and XP in dual boot is when you have to reinstall any of the two when something fails, let's say a hard disk failure, a lost partition, virus, etc. What commonly happens is that you lose all your hard work config…
The Service applet starts in Extended Mode by Default, with a taskpad on the left of the services pane. This view mode was introduced in XP. As I find it not very usefull, I like to use the Standard view as default, and without the Console tree. …
The Task Scheduler is a powerful tool that is built into Windows. It allows you to schedule tasks (actions) on a recurring basis, such as hourly, daily, weekly, monthly, at log on, at startup, on idle, etc. This video Micro Tutorial is a brief intro…
Screencast - Getting to Know the Pipeline
Suggested Courses

886 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question