I have laptops using roaming profiles and users (using the local profile as warned on login) can delete some icons from the desktop whilst off net. They find the icons have return the next time they connect to the network.
The date & time on the laptop are correct & the NTuser.dat file on the laptop is newer than the one on the server at the time of re-connection.
Any new files created whilst off site are copied to the server profile so it appears that rather than using the laptop as the latest & updating the server, it is merging the two.
This has been seen on two different laptops on two completely seperate unrelated sites
.... Or is this just the way it it ??