Solved

Symantec Backup Exec 12.5 DLO: Can I restore a user deleted from AD?

Posted on 2009-07-15
7
2,093 Views
Last Modified: 2013-12-01
We're using Symantec Backup Exec 12.5 DLO to backup users in our organization.

I realized that if a user is deleted from the Active Directory then the backup data is unrecoverable because of a key needed to decrypt the files being deleted as well.

Is there any way to restore the files of this user? Or if not is there a procedure I could follow to avoid this situation in the future? (like disabling encryption for that user only, just before he/she's deleted from AD)

- C.L.
0
Comment
Question by:fbmeit
  • 3
  • 3
7 Comments
 
LVL 2

Expert Comment

by:WimBartels
ID: 24867640
Are you only using backup exec DLO ? or also BE for normal backup
BE has an Active directory client, who backs-up the AD
What version of BE are you using ?


Cheers,

Wim
0
 
LVL 1

Author Comment

by:fbmeit
ID: 24867933
I wouldn't want to restore users. We can't have all the users that leave the organization stay in the AD forever just for the backup server. I would like to know if there's any other way to go about it without being dependent on the AD domain account of each user.

As mentioned we use 12.5.
0
 
LVL 2

Expert Comment

by:WimBartels
ID: 24867951
anyway you should be able to retore to a different location
why are there doc on there PC's and not on central storage

Cheers Wim
0
Optimizing Cloud Backup for Low Bandwidth

With cloud storage prices going down a growing number of SMBs start to use it for backup storage. Unfortunately, business data volume rarely fits the average Internet speed. This article provides an overview of main Internet speed challenges and reveals backup best practices.

 
LVL 1

Author Comment

by:fbmeit
ID: 24868267
All data are stored on the server. We don't use the users' desktop to store backup files. We've got the encryption for storage enabled

This post can clear things up:
http://www.symantec.com/connect/forums/anyone-knows-how-restore-deleted-users-dlo-backup

I don't mind losing this one user's data. I was wondering if this can be avoided in the future in any way
0
 
LVL 2

Accepted Solution

by:
WimBartels earned 500 total points
ID: 24868323
can't you just restore the users data to a differrent location ( afolder on your server) before deleting the user ?

Cheers


Wim
0
 
LVL 2

Expert Comment

by:aqtech
ID: 24874098
I am not sure about 12.0 as we are using 12.5, but you can check if the following works for you

go to Restore System State - -> Active Directory --> DC=XYZ --> OU (go to the user OU) and then you can restore the user
0
 
LVL 1

Author Comment

by:fbmeit
ID: 24876612
I guess restoring the user's data before we delete it from AD is the way to go. The only disadvantage is that we'll have to manually encrypt the data using third-party software.

Based on my findings and your answers I'm guessing that after the user is deleted the data can no longer be recovered unless first restore the user in AD (which I haven't tested yet)

Thank you for your help Wim
0

Featured Post

Is Your Active Directory as Secure as You Think?

More than 75% of all records are compromised because of the loss or theft of a privileged credential. Experts have been exploring Active Directory infrastructure to identify key threats and establish best practices for keeping data safe. Attend this month’s webinar to learn more.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

Suggested Solutions

Symantec Ghost is the number one software used for mass image deployment in enterprises. There are many others tools, including free and open source, but Ghost by far is number one. Sysprep is a utility developed by Microsoft to facilitate the ma…
We planned to use NetApp's SnapManager for Exchange (SME) to make three snapshots a day for quick recovery. Additional we planned to use Symantec NetBackup7 to backup to tape media for disaster recovery. We followed the best practice guide from NetA…
This tutorial will show how to configure a single USB drive with a separate folder for each day of the week. This will allow each of the backups to be kept separate preventing the previous day’s backup from being overwritten. The USB drive must be s…
This tutorial will walk an individual through setting the global and backup job media overwrite and protection periods in Backup Exec 2012. Log onto the Backup Exec Central Administration Server. Examine the services. If all or most of them are stop…

867 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question

Need Help in Real-Time?

Connect with top rated Experts

21 Experts available now in Live!

Get 1:1 Help Now