Print server migration

nmgonzalez
nmgonzalez used Ask the Experts™
on
I have two print servers that I would like to consolidate into one. I plan in using Microsoft's Print Migrator 3.1 I am going to backup the print server I want to get rid off using this tool. When I restore the backup to the server I want to consolidate to, will I loose any of my pre-existing printers that are on that server? I understand that once I move the printers from the old server into the new one I will have to manually reconnect all the users since they are not the same name. This is ok as I had to decide between one or the other. Thanks in advanced for any info.
Comment
Watch Question

Do more with

Expert Office
EXPERT OFFICE® is a registered trademark of EXPERTS EXCHANGE®
Commented:
From memory, the printmig tool will not delete your existing printers, but will override any printers with the same name (duplicates).

If you don't want to override the printers, do a backup of the 'master' server before you restore the printmig information from the other server, then restore it last so that it will override any duplicates with the information it had originally.

It may be useful to note this also includes drivers and print processing engines.

Do more with

Expert Office
Submit tech questions to Ask the Experts™ at any time to receive solutions, advice, and new ideas from leading industry professionals.

Start 7-Day Free Trial